Navigation

Not a River

Availability: In Stock
ISBN: 9781913867454
AuthorAlmada, Selva
Pub Date23/01/2024
BindingPaperback
Pages99
CountryGBR
Dewey
Publisher: Charco Press
€14.21

Longlisted for the International Booker Prize 2024

Three men go out fishing, returning to a favourite spot on the river despite their memories of a terrible accident there years earlier. As a long, sultry day passes, they drink and cook and talk and dance, and try to overcome the ghosts of their past. But they are outsiders, and this intimate, peculiar moment also puts them at odds with the inhabitants of this watery universe, both human and otherwise. The forest presses close, and violence seems inevitable, but can another tragedy be avoided?Rippling across time like the river that runs through it, Selva Almada's latest novel is the finest expression yet of her compelling style and singular vision of rural Argentina.This masterful novel reveals once again Selva Almada's unique voice and extraordinary sensitivity, allowing its characters to shine and express in action what the depths of their souls harbour.



One of the Best Books of 2020 in Clarin and La Nacion
Shortlisted for the Mario Vargas Llosa Novel Prize

*
*
*
Product description

Longlisted for the International Booker Prize 2024

Three men go out fishing, returning to a favourite spot on the river despite their memories of a terrible accident there years earlier. As a long, sultry day passes, they drink and cook and talk and dance, and try to overcome the ghosts of their past. But they are outsiders, and this intimate, peculiar moment also puts them at odds with the inhabitants of this watery universe, both human and otherwise. The forest presses close, and violence seems inevitable, but can another tragedy be avoided?Rippling across time like the river that runs through it, Selva Almada's latest novel is the finest expression yet of her compelling style and singular vision of rural Argentina.This masterful novel reveals once again Selva Almada's unique voice and extraordinary sensitivity, allowing its characters to shine and express in action what the depths of their souls harbour.



One of the Best Books of 2020 in Clarin and La Nacion
Shortlisted for the Mario Vargas Llosa Novel Prize

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Details: Shortlisted for the 2024 International Booker Prize

Genberg, Ia
9781035400584
An intoxicating international bestseller about a woman in the throes of a fever remembering the important people in her past, the memories laid bare in vivid detail as her body temperature races - for fans of Rachel Cusk and Lucia Berlin
€13.03

You Are Here : The New Novel By The Number 1 Sunday Times Bestselling Author Of One Day

Nicholls, David
9781444715453
The new novel by the number 1 Sunday Times bestselling author of One Day. A story of first encounters, second chances and finding the way home.
€17.74

The Instruments of Darkness : A Charlie Parker Thriller (Signed / Inscribed First Edition / Limited Bookmark)

Connolly, John
9781529391862
A mother's worst fear realised; a court case that reveals the darkest of secrets - The Instruments of Darkness thrills from the very first page.
€26.05