Navigation

Long Long Afternoon

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781838772277
AuthorVesper, Inga
Pub Date04/02/2021
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Kings Road
Quick overview The sunniest places hold the darkest secrets . . . A stunning 1950s set debut mystery brimming with atmosphere and perfect for fans of Tangerine, Small Pleasures and Mad Men.
€16.25

Yesterday, I kissed my husband for the last time . .

. It's the summer of 1959, and the well-trimmed lawns of Sunnylakes, California, wilt under the sun. At some point during the long, long afternoon, Joyce Haney, wife, mother, vanishes from her home, leaving behind two terrified children and a bloodstain on the kitchen floor.

While the Haney's neighbours get busy organising search parties, it is Ruby Wright, the family's 'help', who may hold the key to this unsettling mystery. Ruby knows more about the secrets behind Sunnylakes' starched curtains than anyone, and it isn't long before the detective in charge of the case wants her help. But what might it cost her to get involved? In these long hot summer afternoons, simmering with lies, mistrust and prejudice, it could only take one spark for this whole 'perfect' world to set alight .

. . A beguiling, deeply atmospheric debut novel from the cracked heart of the American Dream, The Long, Long Afternoon is at once a page-turning mystery and an intoxicating vision of the ways in which women everywhere are diminished, silenced and ultimately under-estimated.

*
*
*
Product description

Yesterday, I kissed my husband for the last time . .

. It's the summer of 1959, and the well-trimmed lawns of Sunnylakes, California, wilt under the sun. At some point during the long, long afternoon, Joyce Haney, wife, mother, vanishes from her home, leaving behind two terrified children and a bloodstain on the kitchen floor.

While the Haney's neighbours get busy organising search parties, it is Ruby Wright, the family's 'help', who may hold the key to this unsettling mystery. Ruby knows more about the secrets behind Sunnylakes' starched curtains than anyone, and it isn't long before the detective in charge of the case wants her help. But what might it cost her to get involved? In these long hot summer afternoons, simmering with lies, mistrust and prejudice, it could only take one spark for this whole 'perfect' world to set alight .

. . A beguiling, deeply atmospheric debut novel from the cracked heart of the American Dream, The Long, Long Afternoon is at once a page-turning mystery and an intoxicating vision of the ways in which women everywhere are diminished, silenced and ultimately under-estimated.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

The Sanatorium

Pearse, Sarah
9781787633322
'The Sanatorium will keep you checking over your shoulder. This spine-tingling, atmospheric thriller has it all: an eerie Alpine setting, sharp prose, and twists you'll never see coming. A must-read.' Richard Osman EVERYONE'S IN DANGER. ANYONE COULD BE NEXT.
€15.33

Proof of Life

Ellory, R. J.
9781398703957
Stroud is a former war photographer who left the frontline before his luck ran out. His best friend and mentor, Vincent Raphael, was not so fortunate. His car ran over an explosive device and that was the last time anyone saw him. That is, until two months ago, when he was seen in Istanbul. Stroud doesn't believe it for a second. But the more he looks, the more his friend is proving a hard man to pronounce dead.
€17.41

Everything is Beautiful: the most uplifting, heartwarming read of 2021

Ray, Eleanor
9780349427423
Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places
€15.24