Navigation

All This Could Be Different

Availability: In Stock
ISBN: 9781474624787
AuthorMathews, Sarah Thankam
Pub Date04/08/2022
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Quick overview 'This is not a story about work or precarity. I am trying, late in the evening, to say something about love, which for many of us is not separable from the other shit.'
€17.15

All This Could be Different introduces us to Sneha. A recent college graduate freshly arrived in Milwaukee, she occupies her days with rote, stressful work as a young consultant for a battery production corporation.

She is, as her boss reminds her, a "contractor, no benefits."

Her nights are spent ordering furniture off the internet, trying out the newfangled invention of dating apps, and avoiding confrontation with the terrifying property manager who lives below her. But the rewards are bountiful: the vertigo of young life in a new and expanding city, a budding friendship with the charismatic and freewheeling Tig, a quiet obsession with Marina, a ballet dancer who she runs into again and again, and the ability to send money by wire transfer to her parents two oceans away in India. Piece by piece she gathers and nurtures the fragments of a good life.

But then the walls start to creep in...

*
*
*
Product description

All This Could be Different introduces us to Sneha. A recent college graduate freshly arrived in Milwaukee, she occupies her days with rote, stressful work as a young consultant for a battery production corporation.

She is, as her boss reminds her, a "contractor, no benefits."

Her nights are spent ordering furniture off the internet, trying out the newfangled invention of dating apps, and avoiding confrontation with the terrifying property manager who lives below her. But the rewards are bountiful: the vertigo of young life in a new and expanding city, a budding friendship with the charismatic and freewheeling Tig, a quiet obsession with Marina, a ballet dancer who she runs into again and again, and the ability to send money by wire transfer to her parents two oceans away in India. Piece by piece she gathers and nurtures the fragments of a good life.

But then the walls start to creep in...

Customers who bought this item also bought

A Jewish Girl in Paris

Levensohn, Melanie
9781529075748
Inspired by true events and set against the backdrop of the Second World War, Melanie Levensohn's A Jewish Girl in Paris is a powerful novel about forbidden love, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, adapted from a translation by Jamie Lee Searle.
€16.79

The War Librarian

Armstrong, Addison
9780593328064
The Paris Library meets The Flight Girls in this captivating historical novel about the sacrifice and courage necessary to live a life of honor, inspired by the first female volunteer librarians during World War I and the first women accepted into the U.S. Naval Academy.
€16.98

Every Shade of Happy

Shrimpton, Phyllida
9781803287201
Heartwarming and uplifting, Every Shade of Happy will make you laugh, cry and want to call your grandfather. Perfect for fans of Marianne Cronin and Hazel Prior.
€18.11