Navigation

Mouthing

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9780241617298
AuthorMackey, Orla
Pub Date30/05/2024
BindingTrade PB
Pages240
CountryGBR
Dewey
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Quick overview Sharp-eyed and sharp-tongued, a multigenerational portrait of small-town life in Ireland from a refreshing new talent in literary fiction
€17.55

'A bittersweet love letter to small-town Irish life over several generations, in the vein of Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge' Irish Times, 'Fiction to look out for in 2024'

Welcome to Ballyrowan.

This sleepy corner of rural Ireland may seem tranquil, but scratch the surface and you'll find a hotbed of gossip and intrigue - endless material for mouthing - and a town full of people only too happy to oblige in spreading the bad news.

Narrated by several generations of villagers, Mouthing traces the fortunes of one small community from the mid-20th century to the early 21st, in a series of highly confessional and darkly hilarious monologues. The good people of Ballyrowan delight in twisting the knife, in tormenting one another, in perfecting the art of schadenfreude. And, it becomes clear, none of them are entirely reliable witnesses.

As each character offers their version of 'the truth', upending our assumptions at every turn, we see how feuds are passed down through the generations, how families are estranged or reunited and fortunes made or lost, how strict social expectations can shift and loosen over decades (and how some things remain stubbornly unchanged). And we see how secret hopes and private sorrows, triumph and humiliation, pleasure and grief are all absorbed into the merciless chorus of mouthing.

Mouthing is an acerbic, unsentimental love letter to rural Irish life, where everyone knows everyone else's business and everyone has an opinion on it - where 'community' is both a lifeboat and a life sentence.

*
*
*
Product description

'A bittersweet love letter to small-town Irish life over several generations, in the vein of Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge' Irish Times, 'Fiction to look out for in 2024'

Welcome to Ballyrowan.

This sleepy corner of rural Ireland may seem tranquil, but scratch the surface and you'll find a hotbed of gossip and intrigue - endless material for mouthing - and a town full of people only too happy to oblige in spreading the bad news.

Narrated by several generations of villagers, Mouthing traces the fortunes of one small community from the mid-20th century to the early 21st, in a series of highly confessional and darkly hilarious monologues. The good people of Ballyrowan delight in twisting the knife, in tormenting one another, in perfecting the art of schadenfreude. And, it becomes clear, none of them are entirely reliable witnesses.

As each character offers their version of 'the truth', upending our assumptions at every turn, we see how feuds are passed down through the generations, how families are estranged or reunited and fortunes made or lost, how strict social expectations can shift and loosen over decades (and how some things remain stubbornly unchanged). And we see how secret hopes and private sorrows, triumph and humiliation, pleasure and grief are all absorbed into the merciless chorus of mouthing.

Mouthing is an acerbic, unsentimental love letter to rural Irish life, where everyone knows everyone else's business and everyone has an opinion on it - where 'community' is both a lifeboat and a life sentence.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Camino Ghosts : The new thrilling novel from Sunday Times bestseller John Grisham

Grisham, John
9781529342512
In this new thriller set on Camino Island, popular bookseller Bruce Cable tells Mercer Mann an irresistible tale that might be her next novel.
€19.89

Think Twice : From the #1 bestselling creator of the hit Netflix series Fool Me Once

Coben, Harlan
9781529906110
Secrets, lies and a murderous conspiracy that stretches back into the past lie at the heart of Harlan Coben's blistering new thriller.
€18.71

You Like It Darker - Stories

King, Stephen
9781399725101
Each of these stories holds its own thrills, joys, and mysteries; each feels iconic. You like it darker? You got it.
€19.89