This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Modern Times - Short Stories

Modern Times - Short Stories
The stories in this collection range from the absurd: a world beset by a sickness that slowly turns everyone blue; a woman who rears a child that gets older, but never ages; a wife making friends with her husband's sex-doll - to the sublime: a man reconnecting with his estranged daughter through homemade movies filmed on a non-existent camera, a woman saving a child from a train wreck.
Our Price: €15.00
ISBN/EAN9781906539832
Stock: 3
Publisher: Stinging Fly Press Ireland
Pub. Date: March 19 2020
Author: SWEENEY, CATHY
Format: Hardback
Save wishlist

They are beguiling and utterly, unabashedly unique; each formed pearl-like, iridescent, lapidary and uncracked; reminiscent of Samuel Beckett, Lydia Davis and the fable-like stories of Angela Carter, yet unlike anything you've read before. They herald the arrival of a truly special fiction writer, capable of creating whole worlds in a handful of pages.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Liberation of Brigid Dunne
The brilliant new novel from the beloved Sunday Times-bestselling author of Orange Blossom Days. Our Price: : €15.54

click to see more

 
 
Good Neighbourhood
A Good Neighbourhood explores how class, race and star-crossed love will change two families' lives forever. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult. Our Price: : €16.50

click to see more

 
 
Paper Bracelet
Inspired by heartrending real events, the gripping new novel from the No. 1 bestselling author about a former nurse in an Irish mother and baby home who reunites the mothers with the babies they were forced to give up years ago. Our Price: : €15.47

click to see more

 
 
Sleeper Lies
I step forward, breathing fast. Movement. I force myself to take another step. I think about all of it, all of the deaths and all of the accidents and all of the pain... and I know what I need to do. Our Price: : €11.03

click to see more

 
 
Quiet Tide
A Quiet Tide is the fictionalised account of Irish botanist Ellen Hutchins who lived in Bantry in County Cork at the start of the nineteenth century. Our Price: : €14.95

click to see more