This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Scar

Scar
A fearless, candid memoir interweaving the author's descent into depression with a medical and cultural history of this illness.
"The book will be passed from person to person, within families, from doctor to doctor. It will really help people... This is a book that will really matter." - Colm Toibin
Our Price: €16.00
ISBN/EAN9781843517603
Stock: 0
Publisher: The Lilliput Press Ltd
Pub. Date: April 30 2019
Author: CREGAN, MARY
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

At the age of twenty-seven, married, living in New York, and working in book design, Mary Cregan gives birth to her first child, a daughter she names Anna. But it's apparent that something is terribly wrong and two days later, Anna dies, plunging Cregan into suicidal despair. Decades later, sustained by her work, a second marriage, and a son, Cregan reflects on and attempts to make sense of this pivotal experience.

Weaving together literature and research with details from her long-buried medical records, she writes of her own ordeal and the still-visible scar of a suicide attempt- while considering it as part of a larger history of our understanding of depression. She investigates the treatments she underwent, from hospitalization and shock therapy to psychotherapy and antidepressants.

At once intimate and scholarly, The Scar illuminates a too often stigmatised affliction with compassion and intelligence and offers hope to all those who are still struggling.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Create: Beautiful Food at Home
Adrian Martin is a chef, author and television presenter. At the heart of his talent is a passion for good food and an eye for perfection. His love of food and showing how anyone can create a meal that belongs in fine-dining restaurant provide the inspiration for Create Beautiful Food at Home. Our Price: : €24.99

click to see more

 
 
This Too Will Pass
Life can be very challenging in our fast-paced society. Watching the news on television or reading the newspapers, is often a very negative experience. Many people are struggling with depression, addiction and severe financial problems. Stories of hope and joy are often elusive. Our Price: : €14.99

click to see more

 
 
Her Husband's Mistake
Dave's made a BIG mistake. What's Roxy going to do about it? The riveting new novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for readers of Marian Keyes and Amanda Prowse. Our Price: : €10.99
Retail Price: €16.88

click to see more

 
 
Black '47: Ireland's Great Hunger: A Graphic Novel
The story of The Great Hunger told as a graphic novel from the perspectives of Irish men, women and children from June 1987 onward. This graphic novel brings the suffering and immediacy of the Irish Famine to life through the combination of word and illustration. Our Price: : €14.99

click to see more

 
 
All in a Doctor's Day: Memoirs of an Irish Country Practice
Step into the surgery of Dr. Lucia Gannon. Arriving in the small village of Killenaule, Co. Tipperary 20 years ago - husband Liam (also a GP) and children in tow. Journey with her as she builds a life in this tight-knit community, and discover what it means to be the one people bring their problems to. Our Price: : €16.99

click to see more