This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Shadowplay

Shadowplay
This exceptional novel explores the complexities of love that stands dangerously outside social convention, the restlessness of creativity, and the experiences that led to Dracula, the most iconic supernatural tale of all time.
Our Price: €15.69
ISBN/EAN9781787300859
Stock: 0
Publisher: Random House
Pub. Date: June 6 2019
Author: O'CONNOR, JOSEPH
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

1878: The Lyceum Theatre, London. Three extraordinary people begin their life together, a life that will be full of drama, transformation, passionate and painful devotion to art and to one another. Henry Irving, the Chief, is the volcanic leading man and impresario; Ellen Terry is the most lauded and desired actress of her generation, outspoken and generous of heart; and ever following along behind them in the shadows is the unremarkable theatre manager, Bram Stoker.

Fresh from life in Dublin as a clerk, Bram may seem the least colourful of the trio but he is wrestling with dark demons in a new city, in a new marriage, and with his own literary aspirations. As he walks the London streets at night, streets haunted by the Ripper and the gossip which swirls around his friend Oscar Wilde, he finds new inspiration. But the Chief is determined that nothing will get in the way of his manager’s devotion to the Lyceum and to himself. And both men are enchanted by the beauty and boldness of the elusive Ellen.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Constellations - Reflections from Life
An extraordinarily intimate book of essays that chart the experiences that have made Sinead Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act of Love and I Am, I Am, I Am. Our Price: : €16.26

click to see more

 
 
Cornucopia
At a time when plant-based eating is more popular than ever, Cornucopia is a pioneer in creating delicious meals packed with vegetables, legumes, fruits, herbs and spices. Whether you are a vegetarian, vegan or are trying to cut down on your meat intake, this book brings you punchy flavours and unique, satisfying dishes. With a wide range of ingredients and smart culinary tips and ideas, each recipe is a delight to cook in your own home. Our Price: : €29.99

click to see more

 
 
Recovering - Richie Sadlier Autobiography
When a career-ending injury saw former Ireland and Millwall striker Richie Sadlier retire from football at age 24, his life spiraled out of control. Without structure or a sense of purpose, and fueled by a dependency on alcohol, he spent years running from the dark memories and feelings that had haunted him since childhood. Until one day, he hit rock bottom and decided to confront his demons Our Price: : €24.99

click to see more

 
 
Boulevard Wren and Other Stories.
Ireland's most acclaimed satirist and the millennial generation's idol is back with a second collection of short stories to provoke, unsettle and illuminate. Our Price: : €19.99

click to see more

 
 
Talk to Me! Conversations with Teens that Most Parents Would Love to Have
Talk to Me! offers a fly-on-the-wall perspective on the views, opinions, worries and expectations of tweens and teens on subjects such as the pressures that children experience, worries about appearance, sexual activity, friendships, romantic relationships, LGBTQ+ issues, abusive relationships and much more. Our Price: : €15.00

click to see more