This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Motherfocloir: Dispatches from a not so dead language

Motherfocloir: Dispatches from a not so dead language
A humorous investigation of the Irish language.
Our Price: €8.94
ISBN/EAN9781786691873
Stock: 0
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Pub. Date: September 6 2018
Author: O'Seaghdha, Darach
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

'Motherfocloir' [focloir means 'dictionary' and is pronounced like a rather more vulgar English epithet] is a book based on the popular Twitter account @theirishfor.

As the title suggests, 'Motherfocloir' takes an irreverent, pun-friendly and contemporary approach to the Irish language. The translations are expanded on and arranged into broad categories that allow interesting connections to be made, and sprinkled with anecdotes and observations about Irish and Ireland itself, as well as language in general. The author includes stories about his own relationship with Irish, and how it fits in with the most important events in his life.

This is a book for all lovers of the quirks of language.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Churchill Factor: How One Man Made History
Essential reading for anyone who wants to know what makes a great leader. Boris Johnson re-ignites the legacy of Sir Winston Churchill, to mark the 50th anniversary of his death. Our Price: : €12.14

click to see more

 
 
We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It: A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood
In the tradition of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and Alice Taylor’s To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan’s We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s. Our Price: : €16.59

click to see more

 
 
Growing Up with Ireland: A Century of Memories from Those Born at the Dawn of the Irish State
One hundred years of memories from Ireland's 'independence babies' - a compelling story of a changing republic Our Price: : €16.67

click to see more

 
 
Double Agent: My Secret Life Undercover in the IRA
Kevin Fulton was one of the British Army's most successful intelligence agents. Having been recruited to infiltrate the Provisional IRA at the height of The Troubles, he rose its ranks to an unprecedented level. Living and working undercover, he had no option other than to take part in heinous criminal activities, including the production of bombs which he knew would later kill. So highly was he valued by IRA leaders that he was promoted to serve in its infamous internal police - ironically, his job was now to root out and kill informers.


Until one day in 1994, when it all went wrong. . .
Our Price: : €10.04

click to see more

 
 
Village of Bernadette: Lourdes - Miracles, Stories and Cures: Irish Connection
St. Bernadette's impoverished childhood, visions of Our Lady, and tragic death at the age of 35 are recalled in this groundbreaking book. Irish miracles and cures at Lourdes are recollected. Visits by John F. Kennedy, Grace Kelly and Seamus Heaney are described, bringing the reader up-close to the wonders of Lourdes in a way never achieved before. Our Price: : €14.99

click to see more