This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

White Gold: The Extraordinary Story of Thomas Pellow and North Africa's One Million European Slaves

White Gold: The Extraordinary Story of Thomas Pellow and North Africa's One Million European Slaves
Rich in historical insight and told in a dramatic and engaging voice, this is a superb evocation of the period with a series character to rival Sharpe.
Our Price: €11.99
Retail Price€13.22
ISBN/EAN9780340794708
Stock: 1
Publisher: John Murray Press
Pub. Date: May 9 2005
Author: MILTON, GILES
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

This is the forgotten story of the million white Europeans, snatched from their homes and taken in chains to the great slave markets of North Africa to be sold to the highest bidder. Ignored by their own governments, and forced to endure the harshest of conditions, very few lived to tell the tale. Using the firsthand testimony of a Cornish cabin boy named Thomas Pellow, Giles Milton vividly reconstructs a disturbing, little known chapter of history. Pellow was bought by the tyrannical sultan of Morocco who was constructing an imperial pleasure palace of enormous scale and grandeur, built entirely by Christian slave labour. As his personal slave, he would witness first-hand the barbaric splendour of the imperial court, as well as experience the daily terror of a cruel regime. Gripping, immaculately researched, and brilliantly realised, WHITE GOLD reveals an explosive chapter of popular history, told with all the pace and verve of one of our finest historians.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
AN IRISH ROADSIDE CAMERA
Drawn from the Ulster Folk and Transport Museum, the Lawrence Collection, the Father Browne Collection and the RIAC Guinness Segrave Archive, this is a photographic history of the automobile in Ireland. It covers the first ten years of motoring in Ireland. Our Price: : €30.03

click to see more

 
 
Gaybo Revolution: How Gay Byrne Challenged Irish Society
Our Price: : €16.95

click to see more

 
 
Nathaniel's Nutmeg: How One Man's Courage Changed the Course of History
The extraordinary adventure-filled story of how England came to own Manhattan in the seventeenth century Our Price: : €13.22

click to see more

 
 
Margaret Skinnider (Life and Times New Series) **Reprint
This succinct biography places Macardle in the context of her republicanism after 1916 and later within the politics and religious ethos of the post-colonial state - revealing a determined, intelligent and independently minded woman. Our Price: : €17.00

click to see more

 
 
Sleepover: a gripping and emotional thriller about a mother's worst nightmare
A gripping and emotional psychological thriller about a mother's worst nightmare, from Top Ten ebook bestselling author Samantha King. Perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll's The Friend and K. L. Slater's The Silent Ones Our Price: : €16.53

click to see more