This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Nathaniel's Nutmeg: How One Man's Courage Changed the Course of History

Nathaniel's Nutmeg: How One Man's Courage Changed the Course of History
The extraordinary adventure-filled story of how England came to own Manhattan in the seventeenth century
Our Price: €12.37
ISBN/EAN9780340696767
Stock: 0
Publisher: John Murray Press
Pub. Date: December 11 1999
Author: Milton, Giles
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

In 1616, an English adventurer, Nathaniel Courthope, stepped ashore on a remote island in the East Indies on a secret mission - to persuade the islanders of Run to grant a monopoly to England over their nutmeg, a fabulously valuable spice in Europe. This infuriated the Dutch, who were determined to control the world's nutmeg supply. For five years Courthope and his band of thirty men were besieged by a force one hundred times greater - and his heroism set in motion the events that led to the founding of the greatest city on earth. A beautifully told adventure story and a fascinating depiction of exploration in the seventeenth century, NATHANIEL'S NUTMEG sheds a remarkable light on history.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Gaybo Revolution: How Gay Byrne Challenged Irish Society
Our Price: : €14.52

click to see more

 
 
White Gold: The Extraordinary Story of Thomas Pellow and North Africa's One Million European Slaves
Rich in historical insight and told in a dramatic and engaging voice, this is a superb evocation of the period with a series character to rival Sharpe. Our Price: : €12.37

click to see more

 
 
Margaret Skinnider (Life and Times New Series) **Reprint
This succinct biography places Macardle in the context of her republicanism after 1916 and later within the politics and religious ethos of the post-colonial state - revealing a determined, intelligent and independently minded woman. Our Price: : €17.00

click to see more

 
 
Sleepover: a gripping and emotional thriller about a mother's worst nightmare
A gripping and emotional psychological thriller about a mother's worst nightmare, from Top Ten ebook bestselling author Samantha King. Perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll's The Friend and K. L. Slater's The Silent Ones Our Price: : €15.59

click to see more

 
 
Backstop Land
A witty and impassioned book on Ulster, which has been thrust into the centre of British and European politics and which is likely to become Britain's frontier with the wider world. Our Price: : €15.46

click to see more