This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Rise of Robots - FT's Business Book of Year 2015

Rise of Robots - FT's Business Book of Year 2015
WINNER OF THE FINANCIAL TIMES AND MCKINSEY BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 2015
Our Price: €11.95
ISBN/EAN9781780748481
Stock: 0
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Pub. Date: June 2 2016
Author: FORD, MARTIN
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

If a 'robot' could do your job quicker than you and better than you for no pay, would you still be employed? Today it's travel agents, data-analyst and paralegals whose jobs are under threat. Soon it will be doctors, taxi-drivers and, ironically, even computer programmers. Without a radical reassessment of our economic and political structures, we risk the implosion of the capitalist economy itself. In a frightening tour of artificial intelligence's rapid advances, technology expert Martin Ford draws on a wealth of economic data from both the US and the UK to outline the terrifying societal implications of the robots' rise. From health and education to finance and technology, his warning is stark: any job that is on some level routine is likely to be automated and if we are to see a future of prosperity rather than catastrophe we must act now.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Akin
Bestselling author of Room, Emma Donoghue returns with her new masterpiece, Akin, a brilliant tale of love, loss and family. Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €16.24

click to see more

 
 
Quichotte
In a tour-de-force that is both an homage to an immortal work of literature and a modern masterpiece about the quest for love and family, Booker Prize-winning, internationally bestselling author Salman Rushdie has created a dazzling Don Quixote for the modern age. Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €16.24

click to see more

 
 
Inland
THE NEW NOVEL BY THE AUTHOR OF THE TIGER'S WIFE
'A tremendously talented writer' Ann Patchett

A MAN SEARCHING FOR A HOME HE CAN'T FIND.
A WOMAN BOUND TO A HOME SHE CAN'T LEAVE.
Our Price: : €14.99
Retail Price: €16.18

click to see more

 
 
Deserter
Military cop Scott Brodie is the guy you send in when the other guys can't solve a case. Now he's on the hunt for a dangerous ex-Delta Force deserter named Kyle Mercer, and may have met his match.

***The brand new novel from America's Greatest Living Thriller Writer.***
Our Price: : €14.99
Retail Price: €16.24

click to see more

 
 
Women of Primrose Square
The new novel from bestselling author Claudia Carroll, perfect for fans of Emma Hannigan and Marianne Keyes. Our Price: : €10.99
Retail Price: €15.08

click to see more