Navigation

The Now Now Express

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781803528656
AuthorFleming, John
Pub Date01/02/2024
BindingPaperback
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Gangplank
Quick overview It’s all about this deluded Dublin guy, Patrick, in 1980s London
€12.00

With the Mocking Boys, he locates himself outside of emigration. Sneering at themselves as the greatest minds of their generation, they force their friendship into a brick wall.

Patrick nurtures himself as a low-key patron saint. Bolstering British culture, he feeds it back insights gleaned from books, films, TV, the NME, comics and music heard on John Peel.

But in this world of inverse ambition, all is not right. A participant observer of his age, he is broken-hearted and scornful. He lionises earlier migrant waves of the hardworking Irish. He lives as a melancholic leech on London life. Walking, sleeping, drinking, Patrick feels out of sync with his life cycle. He dreams a train always missed - he dreams he will derail it. And everything explodes after a St Patrick’s Day pub crawl. When the Now Now Express grinds to a shuddering halt.

Time wasted. But worth it. Because amid the mocking and disdain, he vows to one day create a selective sociological fresco.

This novel is about as close as he got.

It is a portrait of a diaspora who adhered to something existential, underground and culturally cynical. Patrick takes on a twisted identity of the Irish patron saint while nursing his own broken heart. The Now Now Express follows his trajectory across London as a participant observer of the brain drain and maps the collapse of his sympathy for his friends. He lionises the older Kilburn-style migrants of the 1950s. The novel explores the 1980s migrant wave of suburban, educated and forward-looking Irish who were still rooted in much of the sentiment of Ireland’s past.

*
*
*
Product description

With the Mocking Boys, he locates himself outside of emigration. Sneering at themselves as the greatest minds of their generation, they force their friendship into a brick wall.

Patrick nurtures himself as a low-key patron saint. Bolstering British culture, he feeds it back insights gleaned from books, films, TV, the NME, comics and music heard on John Peel.

But in this world of inverse ambition, all is not right. A participant observer of his age, he is broken-hearted and scornful. He lionises earlier migrant waves of the hardworking Irish. He lives as a melancholic leech on London life. Walking, sleeping, drinking, Patrick feels out of sync with his life cycle. He dreams a train always missed - he dreams he will derail it. And everything explodes after a St Patrick’s Day pub crawl. When the Now Now Express grinds to a shuddering halt.

Time wasted. But worth it. Because amid the mocking and disdain, he vows to one day create a selective sociological fresco.

This novel is about as close as he got.

It is a portrait of a diaspora who adhered to something existential, underground and culturally cynical. Patrick takes on a twisted identity of the Irish patron saint while nursing his own broken heart. The Now Now Express follows his trajectory across London as a participant observer of the brain drain and maps the collapse of his sympathy for his friends. He lionises the older Kilburn-style migrants of the 1950s. The novel explores the 1980s migrant wave of suburban, educated and forward-looking Irish who were still rooted in much of the sentiment of Ireland’s past.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Stones Corner Light: Volume 3

Buckley, Jane
9781915502162
Stones Corner, Light, set in the early 1980s of war-torn Ulster, continues the sensational cliff-hanging series of thrillers, Turmoil and Darkness.
€14.99

Attaché - Stories

O'Broin, Sean
9781913108885
The hatreds and loves hidden in ordinary lives, carved from the backgrounds of urban and rural mindscapes. They contain the life spirits and losses of people as changes arrive oddly. Nothing is simple. Life as we wish it to be might not be so.
€8.50

Three Little Birds

Blake, Sam
9781805460121
A dark and twisting mystery featuring strong female leads from the Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author, perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves.
€17.57