Navigation

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781472228772
AuthorAndrews, Lyn
Pub Date26/07/2018
BindingPaperback
Pages368
CountryGBR
Dewey
Quick overview Lizzie Tempest is thirteen years old when she finds herself parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool. Brave and determined, Lizzie must fight for the bright future she deserves. From the bestselling author of THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET and LIVERPOOL SISTERS
€11.43

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future...

A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews.

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin.

Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone.

Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?


What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:

'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

*
*
*
Product description

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future...

A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews.

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin.

Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone.

Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?


What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:

'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Customers who bought this item also bought

An Orphan's War : One of the best historical fiction books you will read this year

Green, Molly
9780008238971
War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the Home Front.
€10.60

Man of Honour - Blackie and Emma **Delayed 2021

Bradford, Barbara Taylor
9780008242534
'I am that, to be sure. Shane O'Neill's the name, but the whole world calls me Blackie.' Opening five years before the start of A Woman of Substance, A Man of Honour begins with 13-year-old Blackie O'Neill facing an uncertain future in rural County Kerry. Orphaned and alone, he has just buried his sister, Bronagh, and must leave his home to set sail for England, in search of a better life with his mother's brother in Leeds.
€17.73

All the Beautiful Lies

Swanson, Peter
9780571327218
In a dark and brilliant guessing game of a novel - evoking Patricia Highsmith and Agatha Christie - Peter Swanson once again displays his unique gift for lovingly reprising and refreshing mystery writing's greatest tropes.
€10.62