Navigation

The Little Girl Who Could Not Cry

Availability: In Stock
ISBN: 9781529094381
AuthorMaksymowicz, Lidia
Pub Date19/01/2023
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Picador
Quick overview The Number 1 International Bestseller. The heartbreaking, inspiring true story of a girl sent to Auschwitz who survived Mengele's evil experiments. With a foreword by His Holiness Pope Francis.
€16.99

Lidia was just three years old when she arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau with her mother, grandparents and foster brother. They were from Belarus, their 'crime' that they supported the partisan resistance to Nazi occupation. Lidia was picked by Dr Josef Mengele for his experiments and sent to the children's block where she survived eighteen months of hell.

Injected with infectious diseases, desperately malnourished, she came close to death. Her mother - who risked her life to secretly visit Lidia - was her only tie to humanity. By the time Birkenau was liberated her family had disappeared.

Even her mother was presumed dead. Lidia was adopted by a woman from the nearby town of Oswiecim. Too traumatised to feel emotion, she was not an easy child to care for but she came to love her adoptive mother and her new home.

Then, in 1962, she discovered that her birth parents were still alive in the USSR and wanted her back. Lidia was faced with an agonising choice . . .

The Little Girl Who Could Not Cry is powerful, moving and ultimately hopeful, as Lidia comes to terms with the past and finds the strength to share her story - even making headlines when she meets Pope Francis, who kisses her tattoo. Above all she refuses to hate those who hurt her so badly, saying, 'Hate only brings more hate.

Love, on the other hand, has the power to redeem.'

*
*
*
Product description

Lidia was just three years old when she arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau with her mother, grandparents and foster brother. They were from Belarus, their 'crime' that they supported the partisan resistance to Nazi occupation. Lidia was picked by Dr Josef Mengele for his experiments and sent to the children's block where she survived eighteen months of hell.

Injected with infectious diseases, desperately malnourished, she came close to death. Her mother - who risked her life to secretly visit Lidia - was her only tie to humanity. By the time Birkenau was liberated her family had disappeared.

Even her mother was presumed dead. Lidia was adopted by a woman from the nearby town of Oswiecim. Too traumatised to feel emotion, she was not an easy child to care for but she came to love her adoptive mother and her new home.

Then, in 1962, she discovered that her birth parents were still alive in the USSR and wanted her back. Lidia was faced with an agonising choice . . .

The Little Girl Who Could Not Cry is powerful, moving and ultimately hopeful, as Lidia comes to terms with the past and finds the strength to share her story - even making headlines when she meets Pope Francis, who kisses her tattoo. Above all she refuses to hate those who hurt her so badly, saying, 'Hate only brings more hate.

Love, on the other hand, has the power to redeem.'

Customers who bought this item also bought

Breaking All The Rules

Andrews, Amy
9781682815632
A fun, sexy romp through the trials of starting over, and finding what you didn't know you needed in the last place you expected, perfect for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips.
€15.91

Friends, Lovers and the Big Terrible Thing

Perry, Matthew
9781472295941
The beloved star of Friends takes us behind the scenes of the hit sitcom and his struggles with addiction in this candid, funny, and revelatory memoir that delivers a powerful message of hope and persistence.
€19.16

The Bushcraft Essentials Field Guide: The Basics You Need to Pack, Know, and Do to Survive in the Wild

Canterbury, Dave
9781507216163
Learn everything you need to know about outdoor survival so you can make it through any situation from top bushcraft expert and New York Times bestselling author Dave Canterbury.
€14.71