Navigation

The Divorcees : A dark, riveting page-turning debut from a beguiling new voice

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781786583666
AuthorBeaird, Rowan
Pub Date28/03/2024
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Bonnier
Quick overview A dark and dazzling debut from a beguiling new voice - for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Lessons in Chemistry.
€16.38

Lois Saunders thought that marrying the right man would finally cure her loneliness. But as picture-perfect as her husband is, she is suffocating in their loveless marriage.

In 1951, though, unhappiness is hardly grounds for divorce - except in Reno, Nevada. At the Golden Yarrow, the most respectable of Reno's 'divorce ranches' Lois finds herself living with half a dozen other would-be divorcees, all in Reno for the six weeks' residency that is the state's only divorce requirement. They spend their days riding horses and their nights flirting with cowboys, and it's as wild and fun as Lake Forest, Illinois, was prim and stifling.

But it isn't until Greer Lange arrives that Lois's world truly cracks open . . .

Gorgeous, beguiling, and completely indifferent to societal convention, Greer is unlike anyone Lois has ever met - and she sees something in Lois that no one else ever has. Under her influence, Lois begins to push against the limits that have always restrained her. But how much can she really trust her mysterious new friend? And how far will she go to forge her independence, on her own terms?

*
*
*
Product description

Lois Saunders thought that marrying the right man would finally cure her loneliness. But as picture-perfect as her husband is, she is suffocating in their loveless marriage.

In 1951, though, unhappiness is hardly grounds for divorce - except in Reno, Nevada. At the Golden Yarrow, the most respectable of Reno's 'divorce ranches' Lois finds herself living with half a dozen other would-be divorcees, all in Reno for the six weeks' residency that is the state's only divorce requirement. They spend their days riding horses and their nights flirting with cowboys, and it's as wild and fun as Lake Forest, Illinois, was prim and stifling.

But it isn't until Greer Lange arrives that Lois's world truly cracks open . . .

Gorgeous, beguiling, and completely indifferent to societal convention, Greer is unlike anyone Lois has ever met - and she sees something in Lois that no one else ever has. Under her influence, Lois begins to push against the limits that have always restrained her. But how much can she really trust her mysterious new friend? And how far will she go to forge her independence, on her own terms?

Customers who bought this item also bought

The No. 1 Lawyer : An Unputdownable Legal Thriller from the World's Bestselling Thriller Author

Patterson, James
9781529136401
Stafford Lee Penney is the best defence lawyer in Mississippi - he's never lost a case. Until now.
€17.55

Still See You Everywhere : the brand new gripping crime thriller from No. 1 bestselling author

Gardner, Lisa
9781529917109
A remote tropical island. Countless dangerous secrets. No way to call help.
€18.71

A Stranger in the Family

Casey, Jane
9780008405038
The gripping new thriller featuring DS Maeve Kerrigan and DI Josh Derwent from the Top Ten Sunday Times bestselling author
€16.38