Navigation

The Bench: The most romantic novel of 2020

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9780349419992
AuthorSarginson, Saskia
Pub Date19/03/2020
BindingTrade PB
Pages368
CountryGBR
Dewey823.92
Quick overview The most romantic novel of 2020, this is a tragic love story spanning three decades where the love affair starts and ends on a bench.
€17.24

***RICHARD AND JUDY and INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLING AUTHOR***

A tragic love story spanning three decades, The Bench is Saskia Sarginson's most accomplished and heart-rending novel to date. For fans of One Day and A Star is Born.

'We should have a plaque too,' he says. 'What would it say?'

I tilt my head. 'For Cat and Sam, who found each other and lost each other and found each other again,' I suggest.

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that's spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?


Praise for Saskia Sarginson:

'An intense and brooding read, with a brilliantly claustrophobic sense of place' Sunday Mirror on How it Ends

'An engrossing read with endearing characters thrust into traumatic circumstances. It stayed with me long after the last page' Lisa Ballantyne on How It Ends

'Outstandingly good. Part thriller, part love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down' Sun on The Twins

'Atmospheric, readable, beautifully evoked' Sunday Mirror on Without You

'Stunning in its insight and beautifully written' Judy Finnigan on The Twins

'This enthralling read will keep you up long into the night' Ruth Ware on The Other Me

'Inspirational and compelling' Candis Review on How it Ends

'A stunning writer with deep insight into people, their thoughts and behaviour' NZ Women's Weekly

*
*
*
Product description

***RICHARD AND JUDY and INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLING AUTHOR***

A tragic love story spanning three decades, The Bench is Saskia Sarginson's most accomplished and heart-rending novel to date. For fans of One Day and A Star is Born.

'We should have a plaque too,' he says. 'What would it say?'

I tilt my head. 'For Cat and Sam, who found each other and lost each other and found each other again,' I suggest.

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that's spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?


Praise for Saskia Sarginson:

'An intense and brooding read, with a brilliantly claustrophobic sense of place' Sunday Mirror on How it Ends

'An engrossing read with endearing characters thrust into traumatic circumstances. It stayed with me long after the last page' Lisa Ballantyne on How It Ends

'Outstandingly good. Part thriller, part love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down' Sun on The Twins

'Atmospheric, readable, beautifully evoked' Sunday Mirror on Without You

'Stunning in its insight and beautifully written' Judy Finnigan on The Twins

'This enthralling read will keep you up long into the night' Ruth Ware on The Other Me

'Inspirational and compelling' Candis Review on How it Ends

'A stunning writer with deep insight into people, their thoughts and behaviour' NZ Women's Weekly

Customers who bought this item also bought

Circle of Death

RYAN CHRIS
9781529324891
Ex-SAS heroes Bald and Porter take on the Deep State in the nail-shredding new Strike Back thriller.
€17.42

From Venice with Love

LEY ROSANNA
9781787476271
The bestselling author of The Lemon Tree Hotel returns with an enchanting new holiday read about family bonds and following your heart, wherever it might take you...
€17.13

The Mirror and the Light (The Wolf Hall Trilogy)

MANTEL, HILARY
9780007580835
The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel’s Man Booker Prize-winning Wolf Hall trilogy. ‘If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?’
€19.21