Navigation
Secure Payments
Realex Secure Payments
Payment Method
Mastercard SecureCode
Verified by VISA

Sense and Sensibility

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9780141439662
AuthorAusten, Jane
Pub Date27/02/2003
BindingPaperback
Pages368
CountryGBR
Dewey823.7
SeriesPenguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Quick overview Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her sister Elinor's warning that her impulsive behaviour leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Meanwhile Elinor, always sensitive to social convention, is struggling to conceal her own romantic disappointment.
€5.78

"Sense and Sensibility" is Jane Austen's first published work, meticulously constructed and sparkling with her unique wit. This "Penguin Classics" edition is edited with a critical introduction by Ros Ballaster. Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her sister Elinor's warning that her impulsive behaviour leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Meanwhile Elinor, always sensitive to social convention, is struggling to conceal her own romantic disappointment, even from those closest to her. Through their parallel experience of love - and its threatened loss - the sisters learn that sense must mix with sensibility if they are to find personal happiness in a society where status and money govern the rules of love. This edition also includes explanatory notes, textual variants between first and second edition, and Tony Tanner's introduction to the original "Penguin Classic" edition. Jane Austen (1775-1817) was extremely modest about her own genius but has become one of English literature's most famous women writers.
Austen began writing at a young age, embarking on what is possibly her best-known work, "Pride and Prejudice", at the age of 22. She was the author of "Sense and Sensibility", "Pride and Prejudice", "Emma", "Persuasion", "Mansfield Park" and "Northanger Abbey". If you liked "Sense and Sensibility", you may enjoy Wilkie Collins' "No Name", also available in "Penguin Classics". "Miss Austen was surely a great novelist. What she did, she did perfectly. Her work, as far as it goes, is faultless". (Anthony Trollope).

*
*
*
Product description

"Sense and Sensibility" is Jane Austen's first published work, meticulously constructed and sparkling with her unique wit. This "Penguin Classics" edition is edited with a critical introduction by Ros Ballaster. Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her sister Elinor's warning that her impulsive behaviour leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Meanwhile Elinor, always sensitive to social convention, is struggling to conceal her own romantic disappointment, even from those closest to her. Through their parallel experience of love - and its threatened loss - the sisters learn that sense must mix with sensibility if they are to find personal happiness in a society where status and money govern the rules of love. This edition also includes explanatory notes, textual variants between first and second edition, and Tony Tanner's introduction to the original "Penguin Classic" edition. Jane Austen (1775-1817) was extremely modest about her own genius but has become one of English literature's most famous women writers.
Austen began writing at a young age, embarking on what is possibly her best-known work, "Pride and Prejudice", at the age of 22. She was the author of "Sense and Sensibility", "Pride and Prejudice", "Emma", "Persuasion", "Mansfield Park" and "Northanger Abbey". If you liked "Sense and Sensibility", you may enjoy Wilkie Collins' "No Name", also available in "Penguin Classics". "Miss Austen was surely a great novelist. What she did, she did perfectly. Her work, as far as it goes, is faultless". (Anthony Trollope).

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Freedom is a Land I Cannot See

Cunningham, Peter
9781913207205
1924. Blinded in an attack in the aftermath of Irish independence, Rose Raven is living quietly with her brother. Charting the dangerous first years of the Irish Free State, the novel tells the story of Rose's secrets, every one of them a risk to the success of the new Ireland.
€10.42

Sunny Days and Sea Breezes

MATTHEWS, CAROLE
9780751572155
An absolute must-read from the queen of romance, Sunny Days and Sea Breezes will make your heart sing.
€15.10

Guilty

MacDonald, Siobhan
9781472134141
A twisty and compelling psychological suspense novel set in Ireland, from ebook-bestselling author Siobhan MacDonald. Perfect for fans of Dervla McTiernan and Andrea Carter.
€16.21