Navigation

Raft of Stars

Availability: In Stock
ISBN: 9780008453596
AuthorGraff, Andrew
Pub Date15/04/2021
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Harper Collins
Quick overview An instant classic for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and We Begin at the End! The most heartbreaking and beautifully written debut novel of 2021.
€15.22

It's the summer of 1994 in Claypot, Wisconsin, and the lives of ten-year-old Fischer "Fish" Branson and Dale "Bread" Breadwin are shaped by the two fathers they don't talk about. One night, tired of seeing his best friend bruised and terrorized by his no-good dad, Fish takes action.

A gunshot rings out and the two boys flee the scene, believing themselves murderers. They head for the woods, where they find their way onto a raft, but the natural terrors of Ironsforge gorge threaten to overwhelm them. Four adults track them into the forest, each one on a journey of his or her own.

Fish's mother Miranda, a wise woman full of fierce faith; his granddad, Teddy, who knows the woods like the back of his hand; Tiffany, a purple-haired gas station attendant and poet looking for connection; and Sheriff Cal, who's having doubts about a life in law enforcement. The adults track the boys toward the novel's heart-pounding climax on the edge of the gorge and a conclusion that beautifully makes manifest the grace these characters find in the wilderness and one another. This timeless story of loss, hope, and adventure runs like the river itself amid the vividly rendered landscape of the Upper Midwest.

*
*
*
Product description

It's the summer of 1994 in Claypot, Wisconsin, and the lives of ten-year-old Fischer "Fish" Branson and Dale "Bread" Breadwin are shaped by the two fathers they don't talk about. One night, tired of seeing his best friend bruised and terrorized by his no-good dad, Fish takes action.

A gunshot rings out and the two boys flee the scene, believing themselves murderers. They head for the woods, where they find their way onto a raft, but the natural terrors of Ironsforge gorge threaten to overwhelm them. Four adults track them into the forest, each one on a journey of his or her own.

Fish's mother Miranda, a wise woman full of fierce faith; his granddad, Teddy, who knows the woods like the back of his hand; Tiffany, a purple-haired gas station attendant and poet looking for connection; and Sheriff Cal, who's having doubts about a life in law enforcement. The adults track the boys toward the novel's heart-pounding climax on the edge of the gorge and a conclusion that beautifully makes manifest the grace these characters find in the wilderness and one another. This timeless story of loss, hope, and adventure runs like the river itself amid the vividly rendered landscape of the Upper Midwest.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Tall Bones

Bailey, Anna
9780857527394
'A wonderfully haunting debut. Small-town intrigue, exquisitely drawn.' JANE HARPER, author of The Dry and The Lost Man 'Irresistible, a compelling and nuanced psychological thriller suffused with small town prejudice and dark family secrets.' PAULA HAWKINS, author of The Girl on the Train 'An intricate and compelling thriller, beautifully nuanced and wonderfully claustrophobic. Brilliant.' SJ WATSON, author of Before I Go to Sleep
€15.27

The Ends of the Earth

Greaves, Abbie
9781529123975
The breathtaking new novel from the author of The Silent Treatment - for fans of Jojo Moyes, Joanna Cannon and Ruth Jones.
€15.28

Madame Burova

Hogan, Ruth
9781529373325
Madame Burova - Tarot Reader, Palmist and Clairvoyant was retiring and leaving her booth on the Brighton seafront after fifty years.
€16.39