Navigation

People Like Us

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781789545012
AuthorFEIN, LOUISE
Pub Date06/08/2020
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Head Of Zeus
Quick overview The Book Thief meets The Tattooist of Auschwitz in this emotional, taut love story. The author has drawn on her own family history and their experiences in Nazi Germany.
€16.38

Leipzig, 1930s Germany.

Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it.

Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew.

Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself...

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief.

*
*
*
Product description

Leipzig, 1930s Germany.

Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it.

Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew.

Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself...

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Love

DOYLE, RODDY
9781787332287
‘A profound examination of friendship, romantic confusion and mortality’ John Boyne One summer’s evening, two men meet up in a Dublin restaurant. As the two friends try to reconcile their versions of the past over the course of one night, Love offers up a delightfully comic, yet moving portrait of the many forms love can take throughout our lives.
€15.47

French Wife

COSTELOE DINEY
9781789543308
Love, secrets and danger abound in the new historical novel from bestselling author Diney Costeloe, set in 19th-century France.
€16.84

Fair Warning

CONNELLY MICHAEL
9781409199083
HOW DO YOU FIND A KILLER WHO KNOWS EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU? Jack McEvoy is a reporter with a track record in finding killers. But he's never been accused of being one himself.
€16.69