Navigation

One Year of Ugly

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9780008347086
AuthorMACKENZIE CAROL
Pub Date23/07/2020
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Harper Collins
Quick overview It was Aunt Celia who got us into the whole mess. The entire Palacios family thrust smack into the middle of a crime ring.
€12.90

Having escaped crumbling, socialist Venezuela the illegal way (who needs residency permits when you know a guy with a boat?), Yola Palacios and her family are settling into their new under-the-radar life in Trinidad.

But when the formidable* Aunt Celia dies, the Palacios discover that she’s been keeping one hell of a secret. She’s seriously in debt to a local criminal called Ugly, a debt that is now theirs to repay.

He might dress like David Bowie, but Ugly’s business style is pure Pablo Escobar. What he says, the Palacios must do, otherwise: big trouble.

Ugly’s right-hand man Román is tasked with keeping an eye on the family but Yola can barely keep her eyes off him. Forbidden fruit is the original aphrodisiac, and when Yola and Román fall in lust, even bigger trouble is on the horizon…

Told with raw, acid humour, One Year of Ugly is a story of family, first love and finding home. A blisteringly fresh take on the migrant experience in a less-than-sunny corner of the Caribbean, and a poignant reminder that no matter what form of ugly crosses your path, there’s always a way to laugh through it.

*
*
*
Product description

Having escaped crumbling, socialist Venezuela the illegal way (who needs residency permits when you know a guy with a boat?), Yola Palacios and her family are settling into their new under-the-radar life in Trinidad.

But when the formidable* Aunt Celia dies, the Palacios discover that she’s been keeping one hell of a secret. She’s seriously in debt to a local criminal called Ugly, a debt that is now theirs to repay.

He might dress like David Bowie, but Ugly’s business style is pure Pablo Escobar. What he says, the Palacios must do, otherwise: big trouble.

Ugly’s right-hand man Román is tasked with keeping an eye on the family but Yola can barely keep her eyes off him. Forbidden fruit is the original aphrodisiac, and when Yola and Román fall in lust, even bigger trouble is on the horizon…

Told with raw, acid humour, One Year of Ugly is a story of family, first love and finding home. A blisteringly fresh take on the migrant experience in a less-than-sunny corner of the Caribbean, and a poignant reminder that no matter what form of ugly crosses your path, there’s always a way to laugh through it.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook

REES CELIA
9780008347123
A striking historical novel about an ordinary young British woman sent to uncover a network of spies and war criminals in post-war Germany that will appeal to fans of The Huntress and Transcription.
€15.25

Love

DOYLE, RODDY
9781787332287
‘A profound examination of friendship, romantic confusion and mortality’ John Boyne One summer’s evening, two men meet up in a Dublin restaurant. As the two friends try to reconcile their versions of the past over the course of one night, Love offers up a delightfully comic, yet moving portrait of the many forms love can take throughout our lives.
€16.46

Us Three

JONES RUTH
9781787630604
Packed with all the heart and empathy that made Ruth’s name as a screenwriter and now author, Us Three is a funny, moving and uplifting novel about life’s complications, the power of friendship and how it defines us all. Prepare to meet characters you’ll feel you’ve known all your life – prepare to meet Us Three.
€15.28