Navigation
Secure Payments
Realex Secure Payments
Payment Method
Mastercard SecureCode
Verified by VISA

More Better Deals

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781473678125
AuthorLansdale, Joe R.
Pub Date23/07/2020
BindingTrade PB
Pages272
CountryGBR
Dewey813.6
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Quick overview Told with his trademark grit, wit, and dark humor More Better Deals is a gripping ode to the strange characters and odd dealings that define Lansdale's beloved East Texas.
€17.36

Ed Edwards is in the used car business. A business that is built on adjusted odometers, strategic exaggerations and the belief that the buyers better beware; and he wants out. Little does Ed know that when Dave, his lazy, grease-stained boss, and the namesake of Smiling Dave's, sends him to repossess a car, he is about to get his chance.

The Cadillac in question, one of the nicest on the lot, was bought by Frank Craig and his beautiful wife Nancy - the owners of a local drive-in and pet cemetery. But when Frank stops making payments and hits the road to sell encyclopedias door to door, its Nancy who is left on the hook. She's fed up with her deadbeat husband, his drinking, and his violence and suggests to Ed, in the throws of their own salacious affair, that they kill Frank to claim the insurance policy.

It is a tantalizing offer - the woman, the car, not one but two businesses and a way out of his miserable life at the lot. Ed could say goodbye to Smiling Dave's, to the TV dinners and maybe even get some help for his aging, alcoholic mother. But does he have what it takes to see the plan through?

*
*
*
Product description

Ed Edwards is in the used car business. A business that is built on adjusted odometers, strategic exaggerations and the belief that the buyers better beware; and he wants out. Little does Ed know that when Dave, his lazy, grease-stained boss, and the namesake of Smiling Dave's, sends him to repossess a car, he is about to get his chance.

The Cadillac in question, one of the nicest on the lot, was bought by Frank Craig and his beautiful wife Nancy - the owners of a local drive-in and pet cemetery. But when Frank stops making payments and hits the road to sell encyclopedias door to door, its Nancy who is left on the hook. She's fed up with her deadbeat husband, his drinking, and his violence and suggests to Ed, in the throws of their own salacious affair, that they kill Frank to claim the insurance policy.

It is a tantalizing offer - the woman, the car, not one but two businesses and a way out of his miserable life at the lot. Ed could say goodbye to Smiling Dave's, to the TV dinners and maybe even get some help for his aging, alcoholic mother. But does he have what it takes to see the plan through?

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Operative 66

MCDERMOTT ANDY
9781472263780
From the international bestseller comes an explosive, action-packed new thriller series - the perfect pulse-racing read for fans of LEE CHILD, DAVID BALDACCI and GREGG HUWITZ.
€17.39

A Page from My Life: A Selection of Stories from Ray D'Arcy Show Listeners

D'Arcy, Ray
9780008447922
'We asked listeners to be honest, creative, funny, engaging and evocative in their writing ... to try to make us laugh, cry and think. We never imagined we would get the quantity and quality of entries that we did for A Page from My Life.' - Ray D'Arcy
€17.52

The Happy Health Plan: Simple and tasty plant-based food to nourish your body inside and out

Flynn, David
9780241471449
By following tried and tested advice, this book will leave you feeling energised with a practical step-by-step plan to enhance your whole body health and happiness.
€19.76