Navigation

Madame Burova

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781529373325
AuthorHogan, Ruth
Pub Date01/04/2021
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: John Murray
Quick overview Madame Burova - Tarot Reader, Palmist and Clairvoyant was retiring and leaving her booth on the Brighton seafront after fifty years.
€16.28

Imelda Burova was a woman who knew where the bodies were buried. She had spent a lifetime keeping other people's secrets and her silence had come at a price. She had seen the lovers and the liars, the angels and the devils, the dreamers and the fools.

Her cards had unmasked them all and her cards never lied. But Madame Burova was weary of other people's lives and other people's secrets, she needed rest and a little piece of life for herself. But before that she had to fulfill a promise made a long time ago.

She held two brown envelopes in her hand, and she had to deliver them.

In London, it is time for another woman to make a fresh start. Billie has lost her university job, her marriage, and her place in the world when she discovered something that leaves her very identity in question.

Determined to find answers, she must follow a trail which might just lead right to Madame Burova's door.

In a story spanning over fifty years Ruth Hogan has conjured a magical world of 1970s holiday camps and seaside entertainers, eccentrics, heroes and villains, the lost and the found. Young people, with their lives before them, make choices which echo down the years. And a wall of death rider is part of a love story which will last through time.

*
*
*
Product description

Imelda Burova was a woman who knew where the bodies were buried. She had spent a lifetime keeping other people's secrets and her silence had come at a price. She had seen the lovers and the liars, the angels and the devils, the dreamers and the fools.

Her cards had unmasked them all and her cards never lied. But Madame Burova was weary of other people's lives and other people's secrets, she needed rest and a little piece of life for herself. But before that she had to fulfill a promise made a long time ago.

She held two brown envelopes in her hand, and she had to deliver them.

In London, it is time for another woman to make a fresh start. Billie has lost her university job, her marriage, and her place in the world when she discovered something that leaves her very identity in question.

Determined to find answers, she must follow a trail which might just lead right to Madame Burova's door.

In a story spanning over fifty years Ruth Hogan has conjured a magical world of 1970s holiday camps and seaside entertainers, eccentrics, heroes and villains, the lost and the found. Young people, with their lives before them, make choices which echo down the years. And a wall of death rider is part of a love story which will last through time.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

Turn A Blind Eye

Archer, Jeffery
9781509851379
Turn a Blind Eye is the third instalment in the gripping story of Detective Inspector William Warwick, by the master storyteller and Sunday Times number one bestselling author of the Clifton Chronicles.
€17.52

A Gambling Man

Baldacci, David
9781529061789
Evoking the golden age of crime, and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man, from one of the world's bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci. A lucky roll of the dice California, 1949. Aloysius Archer is on his way to start a new job with a renowned Private Investigator in Bay Town.
€17.52

Red Book

Patterson, James
9781529125382
The highly-anticipated sequel to Sunday Times bestseller The Black Book Detective Billy Harney exposes an evil lurking deep within his city - but it also brings his past demons to light...
€16.43