Navigation

Life Sentences: the unforgettable Irish bestseller

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781529112962
AuthorO'Callaghan, Billy
Pub Date13/01/2022
BindingPaperback
Pages240
CountryGBR
Dewey823.92
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
€10.19

'Momentous and epic' BERNARD MACLAVERTY
'Superb and moving' JOHN BANVILLE
'A lovely, piercing book' SEBASTIAN BARRY

Three generations. More than a century of famine, war, violence and love.

At sixteen Nancy, the only member of her family to survive the Great Famine, leaves her small island for the mainland. Finding work in a grand house on the edge of Cork City, she feels irrepressibly drawn to the charismatic gardener Michael Egan, sparking a love affair that soon throws her into a fight for her life.

In 1920, Nancy's son Jer has lived through battles of his own as a soldier in the Great War. Now drunk in a jail cell, he struggles to piece together where he has come from, and who he wants to be.

And in the early 1980s, Jer's youngest child Nellie is nearing the end of her life in a council house, moments away from her childhood home; remembering the night when she and her family stole back something that was rightfully theirs, she imagines what lies in store for those who will survive her.

'Brilliantly immerses us in its respective time periods' SUNDAY TIMES

*
*
*
Product description

'Momentous and epic' BERNARD MACLAVERTY
'Superb and moving' JOHN BANVILLE
'A lovely, piercing book' SEBASTIAN BARRY

Three generations. More than a century of famine, war, violence and love.

At sixteen Nancy, the only member of her family to survive the Great Famine, leaves her small island for the mainland. Finding work in a grand house on the edge of Cork City, she feels irrepressibly drawn to the charismatic gardener Michael Egan, sparking a love affair that soon throws her into a fight for her life.

In 1920, Nancy's son Jer has lived through battles of his own as a soldier in the Great War. Now drunk in a jail cell, he struggles to piece together where he has come from, and who he wants to be.

And in the early 1980s, Jer's youngest child Nellie is nearing the end of her life in a council house, moments away from her childhood home; remembering the night when she and her family stole back something that was rightfully theirs, she imagines what lies in store for those who will survive her.

'Brilliantly immerses us in its respective time periods' SUNDAY TIMES

Customers who bought this item also bought

Good Eggs

Hardiman, Rebecca (author)
9781838952778
Meet the Gogartys... They're cracking good fun. Good Eggs is a hilarious and heartfelt debut novel following three generations of a Dublin family, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Caitlin Moran and Derry Girls.
€10.36

The Estate

Costello, Liza
9781529350135
There's no place like home - and Beth hopes there never will be again... An edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller for fans of Tana French
€10.36

Intimacies: Winner of the 2021 BBC National Short Story Award

Caldwell, Lucy
9780571353750
'Outstanding.' Guardian 'Eleven perfect stories.' Irish Independent 'Glorious.' The Times 'My FAVE collection ever.' Pandora Sykes In eleven stories, Intimacies exquisitely charts the steps and missteps of young women trying to find their place in the world.
€10.05