Navigation

I Meant It Once

Availability: In Stock
ISBN: 9781472158604
AuthorDoyle, Kate
Pub Date07/09/2023
BindingTrade PB
Pages256
CountryGBR
Dewey813.6
Quick overview With this sharp and witty debut collection, author Kate Doyle captures precisely that time of life when so many young women are caught in between, pre-occupied by nostalgia for past relationships-with friends, roommates, siblings-while trying to move forward into an uncertain future.
€17.24

'I Meant it Once signals the arrival of a major talent and voice' Brandon Taylor, author of Booker Prize Finalist Real Life

'Perceptive, funny, forthright, and often alarmingly relatable, I Meant It Once is a tremendously good debut' Claire Lombardo, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

With this sharp and witty debut collection, author Kate Doyle captures precisely that time of life when so many young women are caught in between, pre-occupied by nostalgia for past relationships - with friends, roommates, siblings - while trying to move forward into an uncertain future. In "That Is Shocking," a college student relates a darkly funny story of romantic humiliation, one that skirts the parallel story of a friend she betrayed. In others, young women long for friends who have moved away, or moved on. In "Cinnamon Baseball Coyote" and other linked stories about siblings Helen, Evan, and Grace, their years of inside jokes and brutal tensions simmer over as the three spend a holiday season in an amusing whirl of rivalry and mutual attachment, and a generational gulf widens between them and their parents. Throughout, in stories both lyrical and haunting, young women search for ways to break free from the expectations of others and find a way to be in the world.

Written with crystalline prose and sly humour, the stories in I Meant It Once build to complete a profoundly recognizable portrait of early adulthood and the ways in which seemingly incidental moments can come to define the stories we tell ourselves. For fans of Elif Batuman, Ottessa Moshfegh, Patricia Lockwood, and Melissa Bank, these stories about being young and adrift in today's world go down easy and pack a big punch.

*
*
*
Product description

'I Meant it Once signals the arrival of a major talent and voice' Brandon Taylor, author of Booker Prize Finalist Real Life

'Perceptive, funny, forthright, and often alarmingly relatable, I Meant It Once is a tremendously good debut' Claire Lombardo, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

With this sharp and witty debut collection, author Kate Doyle captures precisely that time of life when so many young women are caught in between, pre-occupied by nostalgia for past relationships - with friends, roommates, siblings - while trying to move forward into an uncertain future. In "That Is Shocking," a college student relates a darkly funny story of romantic humiliation, one that skirts the parallel story of a friend she betrayed. In others, young women long for friends who have moved away, or moved on. In "Cinnamon Baseball Coyote" and other linked stories about siblings Helen, Evan, and Grace, their years of inside jokes and brutal tensions simmer over as the three spend a holiday season in an amusing whirl of rivalry and mutual attachment, and a generational gulf widens between them and their parents. Throughout, in stories both lyrical and haunting, young women search for ways to break free from the expectations of others and find a way to be in the world.

Written with crystalline prose and sly humour, the stories in I Meant It Once build to complete a profoundly recognizable portrait of early adulthood and the ways in which seemingly incidental moments can come to define the stories we tell ourselves. For fans of Elif Batuman, Ottessa Moshfegh, Patricia Lockwood, and Melissa Bank, these stories about being young and adrift in today's world go down easy and pack a big punch.

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Running Grave : Cormoran Strike Book 7

Galbraith, Robert
9781408730959
The brand new installment in the highly acclaimed international bestselling series, featuring Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott, written by Robert Galbraith, a pseudonym of J.K. Rowling.
€19.54

Traitor's Gate

Archer, Jeffrey
9780008474386
If you thought William Warwick had troubles in the past, it's nothing compared to what he's facing now.
€17.24

Stop Them Dead

James, Peter
9781529089974
Discover the darkness that lurks around every corner in the latest instalment of the award-winning Grace series, now a major ITV series.
€17.24