Navigation

Evenings & Weekends

Availability: In Stock
ISBN: 9780008604189
AuthorMcKenna, Oisín
Pub Date09/05/2024
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: Harper Collins
Quick overview It's the hottest summer on record and the weekend is about to begin...One of the hottest debuts of 2024, as featured in GQ, ESQUIRE, THE BOOKSELLER, IRISH TIMES, IRISH EXAMINER, HERO MAGAZINE, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
€17.74

Summer in London stops for no-one. Not the half-naked boozers, stoners, and cruisers, the hen parties glugging from bejewelled bottles, the drag queens puffing on hurried fags.

It's June 2019, and everyone has converged on the city's parks, beer gardens and street corners to revel in the collective joys of being alive.Everyone but Maggie. She's 30, pregnant and broke. Faced with moving back to the town she fought to escape, she's wondering if having a baby with boyfriend Ed will be the last spontaneous act of her life.

Ed, meanwhile, is trying to run from his past with Maggie's best friend Phil and harbouring secret dreams of his own.Phil hates his office job and is living for the weekend, while falling for his housemate, Keith. But there's a problem: Keith has a boyfriend and there might not be room for three people in the relationship. Then there's Rosaleen, Phil's mother, who's tired of feeling like a side character in her own life.

She's just been diagnosed with cancer and is travelling to London to tell Phil, if she can ever get hold of him.

As Saturday night approaches, all their lives are set to change forever.

*
*
*
Product description

Summer in London stops for no-one. Not the half-naked boozers, stoners, and cruisers, the hen parties glugging from bejewelled bottles, the drag queens puffing on hurried fags.

It's June 2019, and everyone has converged on the city's parks, beer gardens and street corners to revel in the collective joys of being alive.Everyone but Maggie. She's 30, pregnant and broke. Faced with moving back to the town she fought to escape, she's wondering if having a baby with boyfriend Ed will be the last spontaneous act of her life.

Ed, meanwhile, is trying to run from his past with Maggie's best friend Phil and harbouring secret dreams of his own.Phil hates his office job and is living for the weekend, while falling for his housemate, Keith. But there's a problem: Keith has a boyfriend and there might not be room for three people in the relationship. Then there's Rosaleen, Phil's mother, who's tired of feeling like a side character in her own life.

She's just been diagnosed with cancer and is travelling to London to tell Phil, if she can ever get hold of him.

As Saturday night approaches, all their lives are set to change forever.

Customers who bought this item also bought

When We Were Silent : A gripping and addictive feminist dark academia thriller

McPhillips, Fiona
9781787637382
For fans of GIRL A, MY DARK VANESSA and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, When We Were Silent is a propulsive, bold exploration of power, corruption and retribution.
€16.55

Long Island

Toibin, Colm
9781035029457
The sequel to the prize-winning, bestselling novel Brooklyn. A novel of enormous wit and profound emotional resonance from one of the world's finest writers. In Colm Toibin's masterful new novel, we are reunited with Eilis Lacey, the heroine of Brooklyn, twenty years on, in the 1970s, living with her husband, Tony Fiorello, and her children in a house in Long Island, rather too close to her Fiorello in-laws.
€17.73

Camino Ghosts : The new thrilling novel from Sunday Times bestseller John Grisham

Grisham, John
9781529342512
In this new thriller set on Camino Island, popular bookseller Bruce Cable tells Mercer Mann an irresistible tale that might be her next novel.
€20.10