Navigation

Eros the Bittersweet

Availability: In Stock
ISBN: 9781628973860
AuthorCarson, Anne
Pub Date19/05/2022
BindingTrade PB
Pages190
CountryUSA
Dewey880.93543
SeriesDalkey Archive Essentials
Quick overview Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all timeA book about romantic love, Eros the Bittersweet is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature.
€13.71

Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly entertaining, Eros is an utterly original book.

*
*
*
Product description

Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly entertaining, Eros is an utterly original book.

Customers who bought this item also bought

The 12 Week Mind Workout

Jong, Wouter de
9781529338737
This is a self-help book for people who want to stay sharp - focused mental training for a healthy and happy mind.
€17.36

Unmarried Women of the Country Estate: Four Stories from 17th-20th Century

Furness, Charlotte
9781526757593
These are elite women, all connected to country houses or from noble families throughout the UK, and this book explores to what extent privilege gave them the opportunity to choose the life they wanted, thus guiding the reader to challenge their own beliefs about elite women throughout history.
€15.22

The Fate of Abraham : Why the West is Wrong about Islam

Oborne, Peter
9781398501034
A controversial and outspoken book debunking the popular theory that Islam and the West are irreconcilable enemies, showing how in truth they share many more values
€17.39