Navigation

Black '47: Ireland's Great Hunger: A Graphic Novel

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781847173652
AuthorGoodfellow, Damien
Pub Date29/04/2019
BindingPaperback
Pages96
CountryIRL
Dewey741.5
Publisher: O'Brien Press Ltd
Quick overview The story of The Great Hunger told as a graphic novel from the perspectives of Irish men, women and children from June 1987 onward. This graphic novel brings the suffering and immediacy of the Irish Famine to life through the combination of word and illustration.
€14.99

A gritty graphic novel about Ireland's Great Hunger. Jack and his family have been evicted by their landlord and given one way tickets to the USA. They refuse to leave Ireland, unknowingly placing themselves in grave peril. When Jack falls in with a rebel group, his father is killed and Jack and his family are left to fend for themselves in a Ireland during the famine in 1847.



This is one family's story of Ireland's great hunger told in powerful illustration and compelling words. This graphic novel brings the suffering and immediacy of the Irish Famine.



Following on from the success of political graphic novels this is accessible, informative and insightful history at its best.

*
*
*
Product description

A gritty graphic novel about Ireland's Great Hunger. Jack and his family have been evicted by their landlord and given one way tickets to the USA. They refuse to leave Ireland, unknowingly placing themselves in grave peril. When Jack falls in with a rebel group, his father is killed and Jack and his family are left to fend for themselves in a Ireland during the famine in 1847.



This is one family's story of Ireland's great hunger told in powerful illustration and compelling words. This graphic novel brings the suffering and immediacy of the Irish Famine.



Following on from the success of political graphic novels this is accessible, informative and insightful history at its best.

Additional information
Customers who bought this item also bought

My Pear-Shaped Life

HARRINGTON CARMEL
9780008276621
Meet Greta. She’s funny. She’s flawed. She’s hiding so much behind her big smile she’s forgotten who she is. But Greta is about to discover that the key to being happy is…being you.
€15.04

Cutting Place

CASEY JANE
9780008149093
From multi award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author author Jane Casey comes an incredibly exciting new Maeve Kerrigan crime thriller! You've got to be in the club to know the truth.
€15.04

Jane Austen Society

JENNER NATALIE
9781409194118
A heartbreaking and uplifting novel of hope, loss and love. Perfect for fans of Miss Austen by Gill Hornby and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer
€16.96