Navigation

Birthday Girl

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781529366686
AuthorWolf, Niko
Pub Date09/06/2022
BindingTrade PB
CountryIRL
Dewey
Publisher: John Murray
Quick overview The propulsive thriller from debut talent Niko Wolf, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Blood Orange
€17.27

He loved her. He lost her. But he should never have written her off.

'Birthday Girl is a real treat of a book, beautifully written and perfectly paced, slowly revealing secret after secret until you're not sure of anything anymore - only that you have to keep reading' - Elly Griffiths, author of The Ruth Galloway Novels

Jonathan's wife disappeared more than twenty years ago.

Now he's seeing her everywhere . . .

New York in the 1990s - impoverished writer Jonathan Dainty takes his wife Maddie out to the beach for her birthday.

Hours later he finds himself at the local police precinct trying to explain how on earth he let his wife get into a stranger's car, and allowed it to drive her away.

More than twenty years later, Maddie is presumed dead and Jonathan has channelled his grief into a best-selling series of crime novels. As far as he can, he is living the perfect life.

Then one day he catches a glimpse of his dead wife, moving through a throng of people. Is Maddie alive? Has she come back? And why does no one believe him? As Jonathan attempts to uncover the truth, it soon becomes clear that the people closest to him are hiding something, something that could change everything .

. .

*
*
*
Product description

He loved her. He lost her. But he should never have written her off.

'Birthday Girl is a real treat of a book, beautifully written and perfectly paced, slowly revealing secret after secret until you're not sure of anything anymore - only that you have to keep reading' - Elly Griffiths, author of The Ruth Galloway Novels

Jonathan's wife disappeared more than twenty years ago.

Now he's seeing her everywhere . . .

New York in the 1990s - impoverished writer Jonathan Dainty takes his wife Maddie out to the beach for her birthday.

Hours later he finds himself at the local police precinct trying to explain how on earth he let his wife get into a stranger's car, and allowed it to drive her away.

More than twenty years later, Maddie is presumed dead and Jonathan has channelled his grief into a best-selling series of crime novels. As far as he can, he is living the perfect life.

Then one day he catches a glimpse of his dead wife, moving through a throng of people. Is Maddie alive? Has she come back? And why does no one believe him? As Jonathan attempts to uncover the truth, it soon becomes clear that the people closest to him are hiding something, something that could change everything .

. .

Customers who bought this item also bought

The Murder Book

Billingham, Mark
9781408712467
Tom Thorne has it all. In Nicola Tanner and Phil Hendricks, Thorne has good friends by his side. He finally has a love life worth a damn and is happy in the job to which he has devoted his life... Tom Thorne has it all.... to lose.
€17.44

Lying Beside You

Robotham, Michael
9780751581584
THE BRAND-NEW THRILLER FROM THE RICHARD & JUDY PICK AUTHOR AND SIX-MILLION-COPY BESTSELLER
€17.27

Storm

Merritt, Stephanie
9780008248260
The brand new psychological thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author...
€14.97