Navigation

American People: Volume 2, The

Availability: Out of Stock
ISBN: 9781250785688
AuthorKramer, Larry
Pub Date08/02/2021
BindingTrade PB
Pages896
CountryUSA
Dewey813.54
SeriesThe American People Series
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Quick overview In The American People: Volume 2: The Brutality of Fact, Larry Kramer completes his radical reimagining of his country's history. Ranging from the brothels of 1950s Washington, D.C., to the activism of the 1980s and beyond, Kramer offers an elaborate phantasmagoria of bigoted conspiracists in the halls of power and ordinary individuals suffering their consequences. With wit and bite, Kramer explores (among other things) the sex lives of every recent president; the complicated behavior of America's two greatest spies, J Edgar Hoover and James Jesus Angleton; the rise of Sexopolis, the country's favorite magazine; and the genocidal activities of every branch of our health-care and drug-delivery systems.
€19.79

The American People: Volume 2 is narrated by (among others) the writer Fred Lemish and his two friends-Dr. Daniel Jerusalem, who works for America's preeminent health-care institution, and his twin brother, David Jerusalem, a survivor of a Nazi concentration camp who was abused by many powerful men.

Together they track a terrible plague that intensifies as the government ignores it and depict the bold and imaginative activists who set out to shock the nation's conscience. In Kramer's telling, the United States is dedicated to the proposition that very few men are created equal, and those who love other men may be destined for death. Here is a historical novel like no other-satiric and impassioned and driven by an uncompromising moral and literary vision.

*
*
*
Product description

The American People: Volume 2 is narrated by (among others) the writer Fred Lemish and his two friends-Dr. Daniel Jerusalem, who works for America's preeminent health-care institution, and his twin brother, David Jerusalem, a survivor of a Nazi concentration camp who was abused by many powerful men.

Together they track a terrible plague that intensifies as the government ignores it and depict the bold and imaginative activists who set out to shock the nation's conscience. In Kramer's telling, the United States is dedicated to the proposition that very few men are created equal, and those who love other men may be destined for death. Here is a historical novel like no other-satiric and impassioned and driven by an uncompromising moral and literary vision.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Everything is Beautiful: the most uplifting, heartwarming read of 2021

Ray, Eleanor
9780349427423
Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places
€15.60

Promise

Diamond, Lucy
9781529027020
The Promise is a unforgettable story about finding love, hope and joy in even the darkest moments, by the Sunday Times bestseller Lucy Diamond, author of The Secrets of Happiness.
€15.22

Last Snow

Jackson, Stina
9781838952150
What secrets are hidden within the walls of a desolate farmhouse in a forgotten corner of Lapland?
€15.21