This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

An Orchestra of Minorities

An Orchestra of Minorities
In this contemporary twist of Homer's Odyssey, in the mythic style of the Igbo literary tradition, Chigozie Obioma weaves a heart-wrenching epic about the tension between destiny and determination.
Our Price: €15.99
Retail Price€17.59
ISBN/EAN9780349143194
Stock: 0
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Pub. Date: January 3 2019
Author: OBIOMA, CHIGOZIE
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE SHORTLISTED NOVEL, THE FISHERMEN

Umuahia, Nigeria. Chinonso, a young poultry farmer, sees a woman attempting to jump to her death from a highway bridge. Horrified by her recklessness, Chinonso joins her on the roadside and hurls two of his most prized chickens into the water below to demonstrate the severity of the fall. The woman, Ndali, is moved by his sacrifice.

Bonded by this strange night on the bridge, Chinonso and Ndali fall in love. But Ndali is from a wealthy family, and when they officially object to the union because he is uneducated, Chinonso sells most of his possessions to attend a small college in Cyprus. Once in Cyprus, he discovers that all is not what it seems. Furious at a world which continues to relegate him to the sidelines, Chinonso gets further and further away from his dream, from Ndali and the place he called home.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Lost Child
An absolutely gripping page-turner from the bestselling author of The Missing Ones and The Stolen Girls. If you love Karin Slaughter, Tess Gerritsen and Helen Fields, you'll be completely hooked. Our Price: : €9.99
Retail Price: €15.24

click to see more

 
 
Wall
John Lanchester's thrilling, hypnotic new novel is about why the young are right to hate the old. It's about a broken world you will recognise as your own-and about what might be found when all is lost. Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €15.11

click to see more

 
 
Great Wide Open
The Great Wide Open is an immensely ambitious and compulsive saga; a novel which will speak volumes to anyone who has marvelled at that pain that can only be caused by family itself. Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €16.36

click to see more

 
 
River in the Trees - Cork Author
War of Independence.

Two women.
Two stories.
One hundred years of secrets.

A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan.
Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €15.24

click to see more

 
 
Last
BREAKING: Nuclear weapon detonates over Washington

'A CLEVER, ORIGINAL, SCARILY PLAUSIBLE WHITE-KNUCKLE READ' ERIN KELLY

'STEPHEN KING MEETS AGATHA CHRISTIE IN THIS FANTASTIC AND HIGHLY ORIGINAL NOVEL . . . I LOVED EVERY SECOND . . . THIS IS THE BOOK OF 2019' LUCA VESTE

'CHILLINGLY NIGHTMARISH - A GRIPPING READ' SOPHIA TOBIN
Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €14.68

click to see more