This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Kilkenny: In Times of Revolution, 1900-1923

Kilkenny: In Times of Revolution, 1900-1923
Kilkenny has been overlooked in accounts of this period, and this book rectifies that neglect with superb use of previously unseen archival material: aimed at both the general reader and anyone with an interest in Kilkenny and the Irish Revolution, the main personalities and events in the broader national context are illuminated by the key events and personalities of the county.
Our Price: €19.99
ISBN/EAN9781785371974
Stock: 6
Publisher: Merrion Press
Pub. Date: August 1 2018
Author: WALSH, EOIN SWITHIN
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

Veteran IRA leader Ernie O Malley criticised Kilkenny as being 'slack' during the War of Independence, but Kilkenny was truly at the forefront of the struggle for Irish freedom. No Kilkenny inhabitant escaped the revolutionary era untouched, especially during the turbulence of 1916 and the Civil War.

Kilkenny has been overlooked in accounts of this period, and this book rectifies that neglect with superb use of previously unseen archival material: aimed at both the general reader and anyone with an interest in Kilkenny and the Irish Revolution, the main personalities and events in the broader national context are illuminated by the key events and personalities of the county.

All major battles and altercations are impartially examined, along with the record of Kilkenny fatalities during the War of Independence, listing for the first time all those from Kilkenny - combatants and civilians - killed during the Truce and the Civil War, revealing an even more deadly conflict than anyone has previously believed.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Weekend Dad
Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings. Our Price: : €8.99
Retail Price: €9.13

click to see more

 
 
Leo's War
Our Price: : €8.99

click to see more

 
 
Life in the Church of Ireland: 1600-1800
This enticing 250 page book is the result of painstaking research into the turbulent life of clergy and laity of the (ancient Celtic, catholic and protestant) many faceted Church of Ireland during political upheavals, the influences of plantation and of ecclesiastical establishment. Our Price: : €17.50

click to see more

 
 
Best-Loved Oscar Wilde
Told through his own words, this essential introduction to Oscar Wilde's extraordinary life and work is accompanied by stimulating commentary and stylish design and illustration. For new readers and devotees alike. Our Price: : €12.99

click to see more

 
 
Great Famine in Kinsale (Maynooth Studies in Local History)
This book examines the effects of the Great Famine on the people of Kinsale and surrounding countryside. Our Price: : €9.95

click to see more