This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Shoemaker and his Daughter

Shoemaker and his Daughter
'An arresting and evocative story.' Keggie Carew, author of Dadland'Welcomed by everyone who cares about good writing and human stories.' Richard Lloyd Parry, author of Ghosts of the Tsunami'A tour de force ...
Our Price: €15.99
Retail Price€17.22
ISBN/EAN9781781620434
Stock: -17
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ireland Ltd
Pub. Date: August 23 2018
Author: O'CLERY, CONOR
Format: Hardback
Save wishlist

'An arresting and evocative story.' Keggie Carew, author of Dadland

'Welcomed by everyone who cares about good writing and human stories.' Richard Lloyd Parry, author of Ghosts of the Tsunami

'A tour de force ... O'Clery is a gifted writer.' Luke Harding, bestselling author of Collusion

The Soviet Union, 1962. Shoemaker Stanislav Suvorov is imprisoned for five years. His crime? Selling his car for a profit, contravening the Kremlin's strict laws of speculation. Laws which, thirty years later, his daughter Zhanna helps to unravel. In the new Russia, yesterday's crime is today's opportunity.

On his release from prison, social shame drives Stanislav to voluntary exile in Siberia, moving his family from a relatively comfortable, continental life in Grozny, the capital of Chechnya, to frigid, farthest-flung Krasnoyarsk. For some, it is the capital of the gulag. For others, it is the chance to start over again.

These are the last days of a Soviet Union in which the Communist Party and KGB desperately cling to power, in which foreigners are unwelcome and travel abroad is restricted, where the queues for bread are daily and debilitating and where expressing views in favour of democracy and human rights can get you imprisoned or sent into exile.

The Shoemaker and His Daughter takes in more than eighty years of Soviet and Russian history through the prism of one family - a family author Conor O'Clery knows well: he is married to Zhanna. It paints a vivid picture of a complex part of the world at a seismic moment in its history: of erratic war and uneasy peace; of blind power and its frequent abuse; of misguided ideologies and stifling bureaucracy; of the slow demise of Communism and the chaotic embrace of capitalism. The Suvorovs witness it all. Both intimate and sweeping in scale, this is a story of ordinary lives battered and shaped by extraordinary times.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Bringing Death to Life
A special, thought-provoking and ultimately deeply comforting book which shines a light into an area that needs to become part of the ordinary conversation of life -- death. Our Price: : €14.99
Retail Price: €17.24

click to see more

 
 
Weekend Dad
Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings. Our Price: : €8.99
Retail Price: €9.15

click to see more

 
 
Bold, Brilliant & Bad: Irish Women from History
From creative craftswomen to singing sensations, poets to sporting champions. Marian Broderick is back to explore the histories of remarkable Irish Women in history. These women made a difference to the world in a variety of ways and paved the way for women today. Our Price: : €16.99

click to see more

 
 
Irish Dad's Survival Guide to Pregnancy [& Beyond]
The founder of Dad.ie delivers a practical guide for expectant dads which offers an honest and modern account of pregnancy from a dad's perspective. Our Price: : €14.99

click to see more

 
 
Quiet Revolution of Pope Francis: A Synodal Catholic Church in Ireland?
Francis advocates a critical openness to contemporary culture, a culture of consultation and open debate, and communal discernment practised at every level of `an entirely synodal church'. O'Hanlon argues that this project offers new hope of a better reading of the `signs of the times' by the Catholic Church. Our Price: : €12.95

click to see more