This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

1950s Irish Childhood: From Catapults to Communion Medals

1950s Irish Childhood: From Catapults to Communion Medals
A nostalgic look at a turbulent and character-defining decade in Irish history
Our Price: €12.99
ISBN/EAN9780750983549
Stock: -20
Publisher: The History Press Ltd
Pub. Date: June 1 2018
Author: ILLINGWORTH, RUTH
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

To the young people of today, the 1950s seem like another age. But for those born around then, this era of childhood feels like yesterday.

1950s Ireland was the age of De Valera and John Charles McQuaid. It was the age before television, before Vatican II, and before home central heating. It was a time when motor cars and public telephones had wind-up handles, when boys wore short trousers and girls wore ribbons, when nuns wore white bonnets and priests wore black hats in church.

This delightful collection of nostalgic photographs and memories will appeal to all who grew up in 1950s Ireland and will jog memories about all aspects of life as it was.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Time of Your Later Life: Reflections on Ageing with Attitude
The Time of Your Later Life is a guide to help older people explore new possibilities and write new life narratives in the process of growing older. Our Price: : €15.00

click to see more

 
 
Anniversary
After the death of Lily's mother, Lily and Charlie, though they separated after twenty-six years of marriage, decide to get the family together for one last weekend at the old family home where they once spent their summers. How will the weekend change things for them, for better or for worse? Our Price: : €10.99
Retail Price: €14.88

click to see more

 
 
Path to Freedom: Articles & Speeches of Michael Collins
Articles and speeches written by Michael Collins. Our Price: : €4.99

click to see more

 
 
Blamed
It was the best summer of Anna's life. Until the world blew up around her, and her friend Jessie died ...

The Blamed is the compelling, thought-provoking new novel by bestselling author Emily Hourican.

Irish Author. Prev: White Villa and The Privileged.
Our Price: : €12.99
Retail Price: €15.83

click to see more

 
 
Weekend Dad
Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings. Our Price: : €8.99
Retail Price: €9.04

click to see more