This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Ninth Hour

Ninth Hour
From the National Book Award-winning author comes a luminous, deeply humane novel about three generations of an Irish immigrant family in 1940s and 1950s Brooklyn - for fans of Anne Tyler, Anne Enright and Colm Toibin.
Our Price: €14.48
ISBN/EAN9781408854617
Stock: 0
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Pub. Date: September 19 2017
Author: MCDERMOTT, ALICE
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

From the National Book Award-winning author comes a luminous, deeply humane novel about three generations of an Irish immigrant family in 1940s and 1950s Brooklyn - for fans of Anne Tyler, Anne Enright and Colm Toibin

On a gloomy February afternoon, Jim sends his wife Annie out to do the shopping before dark falls. He seals their meagre apartment, unhooks the gas tube inside the oven, and inhales.

Sister St. Saviour, a Little Nursing Sister of the Sick Poor, catches the scent of fire doused with water and hurries to the scene: a gathered crowd, firemen, and the distraught young widow. Moved by the girl's plight, and her unborn child, the wise nun finds Annie work in the convent's laundry - where, in turn, her daughter will grow up amidst the crank of the wringer and the hiss of the iron.

In Catholic Brooklyn in the early part of the twentieth century, decorum, superstition and shame collude to erase Jim's brief existence; and yet his suicide, although never mentioned, reverberates through many generations - testing the limits of love and sacrifice, of forgiveness and forgetfulness.

In prose of startling radiance and precision, Alice McDermott tells a story that is at once wholly individual and universal in its understanding of the human condition. Rendered with remarkable lucidity and intelligence, The Ninth Hour is the crowning achievement of one of today's finest writers.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Origin: (Robert Langdon Book 5)
The spellbinding new Robert Langdon novel from the author of The Da Vinci Code. 'Dan Brown is the master of the intellectual cliffhanger' Wall Street Journal 'As engaging a hero as you could wish for' Mail on Sunday 'For anyone who wants more brain-food than thrillers normally provide' Sunday Times Our Price: : €19.95
Retail Price: €22.68

click to see more

 
 
Operation Trumpsformation
It's the end of the world as Ross knows it ... this time, there's no way of escaping another monumental fock-up!

Sorcha had thrown me out of the family home - this time apparently for good. And yet that was the least of my worries ...
Our Price: : €13.95
Retail Price: €15.79

click to see more

 
 
Munich
September 1938. Hitler is determined to start a war. Chamberlain is desperate to preserve the peace. The issue is to be decided in a city that will forever afterwards be notorious for what takes place there. Munich. When the stakes are this high, who are you willing to betray? Your friends, your family, your country or your conscience? Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €15.74

click to see more

 
 
Break
Marian's brand NEW novel is nearly here, pre-order yours . . .

Amy's husband Hugh has run away to 'find himself'. But will he ever come back?

'Myself and Hugh . . . We're taking a break.'
'A city-with-fancy-food sort of break?'

If only.
Our Price: : €17.10

click to see more

 
 
Gospel According To Blindboy
The Gospel According to Blindboy is a surreal and genre-defying collection of short stories and visual art exploring the myths, complacencies and contradictions at the heart of modern Ireland. Covering themes ranging from love and death to sex and politics, there’s a story about a girl from Tipp being kicked out of ISIS, a van powered by Cork people’s accents and a man who drags a fridge on his back through Limerick. Our Price: : €19.95
Retail Price: €19.99

click to see more