This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Sour Heart

Sour Heart
A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City--for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Diaz.
Our Price: €14.47
ISBN/EAN9781408892404
Stock: 0
Publisher: Bloomsbury Edtions
Pub. Date: August 10 2017
Author: ZHANG, JENNY
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

`I will never forget the first time I read Jenny Zhang ... I was stunned, moved and - quite frankly - a little jealous' Lena Dunham

These seven startling stories of family, femininity, sexuality and otherness will plunge you into the tender and chaotic hearts of narrators you won't easily forget.

Centred on a community of immigrants who have traded their endangered lives as artists in China and Taiwan for the constant struggle of life on the poverty line in 1990s New York City, the stories that make up Sour Heart examine the many ways that family and history can weigh us down, but also lift us up.

From the young woman coming to terms with her grandmother's role in the Cultural Revolution, to the daughter struggling to understand where her family ends and she begins, to the girl discovering the power of her body to inspire and destroy, these vibrant, raw and powerful stories illuminate the complex and messy inner lives of girls struggling to define themselves.

Fuelled by Jenny Zhang's singular voice and sly humour, Sour Heart introduces a bright new force in literary fiction.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Good Son
'For fans of Jo Nesbo and Patricia Highsmith' A. J. Finn, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window Our Price: : €14.99
Retail Price: €16.24

click to see more

 
 
An Unwanted Guest
The new page-turner from the author of the phenomenal bestsellers, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, and A STRANGER IN THE HOUSE. Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €14.47

click to see more

 
 
Always Smiling
For fans of Made in Chelsea, I'm a Celeb and Celebs Go Dating, ALWAYS SMILING is the first book from the nation's favourite reality TV star Toff! Our Price: : €16.77

click to see more

 
 
Ghost Tree
Before you follow the path into your family’s history, beware of the secrets you may find…

The new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author.
Our Price: : €13.99
Retail Price: €14.44

click to see more

 
 
Broken Ground
Number one bestseller and queen of crime Val McDermid returns with her most breathtakingly atmospheric and exhilarating novel yet.

When a body is discovered in the remote depths of the Highlands, DCI Karen Pirie finds herself in the right place at the right time.
Our Price: : €14.99
Retail Price: €16.69

click to see more