This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Girl from Simon's Bay

Girl from Simon's Bay
1937. Simon's Town is a vibrant and diverse community in the Union of South Africa. Louise Ahrendts dreams of being a nurse instead of entering domestic service as expected. With the Second World War arrives Lieutenant David Horrocks. Despite their differences and a changing society around them, Louise and David are determined to be together.
Our Price: €14.71
ISBN/EAN9780749021207
Stock: 1
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Pub. Date: January 19 2017
Author: MUTCH, BARBARA
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

A seashell and a sealed letter form a tenuous connection to a forbidden wartime romance...1937. Simon's Town is a vibrant and diverse community in a picturesque part of the Union of South Africa. At the heart of the town is the Royal Navy port, and Louise Ahrendts, daughter of a shipbuilder, nurtures the idea that through hard work she could step beyond a destiny of domestic service. She dreams of becoming a nurse and she has the tenacity to make this dream a reality. When the Second World War breaks out and the port becomes a hub of activity, Louise's path crosses with that of Lieutenant David Horrocks. Despite the gulf in their backgrounds and the expectations facing them from family on both sides, Louise and David are determined to be together. But as the end of the war approaches and a new troubled moment of history dawns, will they find their way back to each other?
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Line
A provocative blend of memoir and case study from Ireland's leading criminal psychologist. Our Price: : €18.99

click to see more

 
 
He Said/She Said
The perfect read for fans of Disclaimer, In a Dark Dark Wood and Apple Tree Yard. Who do you believe? Our Price: : €14.68

click to see more

 
 
Girl Who Takes and Eye for an Eye.
The fifth in the Millennium series that began with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo - the global publishing phenomenon. Our Price: : €16.97

click to see more

 
 
Defectors
From the bestselling author of Leaving Berlin and Istanbul Passage comes a thrilling and richly imagined novel about the life of an American spy who defected to Moscow when his cover was blown in the early days of the Cold War Our Price: : €14.66

click to see more

 
 
Party
A gripping story of obsession and betrayal, privilege and hypocrisy, set in the unassailable heart of the British establishment.'As the train pressed on, I realised that my life was in the process of taking a different direction, plotted according to a new constellation. Because, although I didn't know it yet, I was about to meet Ben and nothing would ever be the same again.'Martin Gilmour is an outsider. When he wins a scholarship to Burtonbury School, he doesn't wear the right clothes or speak with the right kind of accent. Our Price: : €12.44

click to see more