This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Beyond the Wild River

Beyond the Wild River
A spellbinding and beautiful novel from a major new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Rachel Hore
Our Price: €16.73
ISBN/EAN9781473639683
Stock: 0
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: April 20 2017
Author: MAINE, SARAH
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World, Stef Penney's Under a Pole Star, and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine skilfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a mystery...compelling' Kirkus Reviews Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting. Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide?
In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Blood Miracles
The second novel from the author of the Baileys Prize-winning The Glorious Heresies

Like all twenty-year-olds, Ryan Cusack is trying to get his head around who he is.
This is not a good time for his boss to exploit his dual heritage by opening a new black market route from Italy to Ireland. It is certainly not a good time for his adored girlfriend to decide he's irreparably corrupted. And he really wishes he hadn't accidentally caught the eye of an ornery grandmother who fancies herself his saviour.
Our Price: : €13.95
Retail Price: €14.59

click to see more

 
 
House of Names
'They cut her hair before they dragged her to the place of sacrifice. Her mouth was gagged to stop her cursing her father, her cowardly, two-tongued father. Nonetheless, they heard her muffled screams.'

On the day of his daughter's wedding, Agamemnon orders her sacrifice.

His daughter is led to her death, and Agamemnon leads his army into battle, where he is rewarded with glorious victory.
Our Price: : €13.95
Retail Price: €14.59

click to see more

 
 
Game of Ghosts (TPB) - Signed / Personalised Copies Available
It is deep winter. The darkness is unending.

The private detective named Jaycob Eklund has vanished, and Charlie Parker is dispatched to track him down. Parker's employer, Edgar Ross, an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, has his own reasons for wanting Eklund found.
Our Price: : €14.95
Retail Price: €15.72

click to see more

 
 
Keep Me Safe
From the million-copy-selling author Daniela Sacerdoti, KEEP ME SAFE is a heartwrenching novel of a mother and daughter seeking safe haven on an island called Seal. If you love the emotional love stories of Nicholas Sparks or Cecelia Ahern, you will adore Daniela Sacerdoti. 'Poignant, unique, one of the best books I've read' The Sun on WATCH OVER ME Our Price: : €14.95

click to see more

 
 
Burial Hour
Number one bestselling author and master of suspense Jeffery Deaver returns with the thirteenth Lincoln Rhyme thriller, which sees a crime go global...

The only leads in a broad-daylight kidnapping are the account of an eight-year-old girl, some nearly invisible trace evidence and the calling card: a miniature noose left lying on the street. A crime scene this puzzling demands forensic expertise of the highest order. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are called in to investigate.

Then the case takes a stranger turn: a recording surfaces of the victim being slowly hanged, his desperate gasps the backdrop to an eerie piece of music. The video is marked as the work of The Composer...

Despite their best efforts, the suspect gets away. So when a similar kidnapping occurs on a dusty road outside Naples, Rhyme and Sachs don't hesitate to rejoin the hunt.

But the search is now a complex case of international cooperation - and not all those involved may be who they seem. All they can do is follow the evidence, before their time runs out.
Our Price: : €14.95
Retail Price: €15.65

click to see more