This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Beyond the Wild River

Beyond the Wild River
A spellbinding and beautiful novel from a major new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Rachel Hore
Our Price: €17.34
ISBN/EAN9781473639683
Stock: 0
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: April 20 2017
Author: MAINE, SARAH
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World, Stef Penney's Under a Pole Star, and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent. 'Maine skilfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a mystery...compelling' Kirkus Reviews Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting. Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide?
In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Want You Gone
Want You Gone is the superb new psychological thriller from million-plus bestseller Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train. Our Price: : €15.95

click to see more

 
 
Lincoln in the Bardo - Booker 2017 Winner
The extraordinary first novel by the bestselling, Folio Prize-winning, National Book Award-shortlisted George Saunders, about Abraham Lincoln and the death of his eleven year old son, Willie, at the dawn of the Civil War The American Civil War rages while President Lincoln's beloved eleven-year-old son lies gravely ill. In a matter of days, Willie dies and is laid to rest in a Georgetown cemetery. Newspapers report that a grief-stricken Lincoln returns to the crypt several times alone to hold his boy's body. Our Price: : €14.78

click to see more

 
 
One Perfect Lie
Lisa Scottoline, internationally bestselling author of KEEP QUIET and EVERY FIFTEEN MINUTES, returns with a gripping new tale of family and survival. Sure to keep fans of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN hooked until the last page. Our Price: : €15.95
Retail Price: €17.28

click to see more

 
 
Fallout
What is happening at the former nuclear missile site next door to the farm? What happened at the site in 1983, when students tried to stage their own version of Greenham Common? Everywhere V I turns she seems to be finding more trouble - with not a sign of August and Emerald. And then trouble turns to death... Our Price: : €16.95

click to see more

 
 
Say Nothing
On a normal Wednesday afternoon, Judge Scott Sampson is preparing to pick up his six-year-old twins for their weekly swim. His wife Alison texts him with a change of plan: she has to take them to the doctor instead. So Scott heads home early. But when Alison arrives back later, she is alone - no Sam, no Emma - and denies any knowledge of the text. Our Price: : €13.95
Retail Price: €14.78

click to see more