This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Line Made by Walking - Tramp Press Edition

Line Made by Walking - Tramp Press Edition
"When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger. He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention. Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style.

She writes beyond the time we live in." (Colum McCann). Struggling to cope with urban life - and with life in general - Frankie, a twenty-something artist, retreats to the rural bungalow on "Turbine hill" that has been vacant since her grandmother's death three years earlier. It is in this space, surrounded by nature, that she hopes to regain her footing in art and life.
Our Price: €15.00
ISBN/EAN9780993459221
Stock: 0
Pub. Date: February 16 2017
Author: BAUME, SARA
Format: Trade PB
Save wishlist

25-year-old Frankie is living in Dublin and working parttime
in a public gallery. Increasingly anxious, she abruptly
quits her bedsit to live in her deceased grandmother’s
creaking house in rural Ireland, close to her family.

With an artist’s gift for observation, Frankie recounts the beauty
and the obliteration of the world as the seasons change
around her, from roadkill to kitchen curios, all the while
struggling to understand her place in it.

This tour-de-force follow-up to Spill Simmer Falter
Wither is a celebration of the extraordinary in the every
day, and Baume’s prose elevates the ordinary and finds
inspiration in the strange.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Want You Gone
Want You Gone is the superb new psychological thriller from million-plus bestseller Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train. Our Price: : €15.95

click to see more

 
 
Gentleman in Moscow
'A work of great charm, intelligence and insight.' Sunday Times.
'Everything a novel should be: charming, witty, poetic and generous. An absolute delight.' Mail on Sunday
Our Price: : €15.95
Retail Price: €16.02

click to see more

 
 
Blood Tide
Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan's acclaimed series. If you enjoyed Sharon Bolton's LITTLE BLACK LIES or Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE, you will love this new novel from the author of THE SILENT DEAD and A SAVAGE HUNGER. Our Price: : €17.95

click to see more

 
 
All the Missing Girls
A nail-biting, breathtaking story about the disappearances of two young women - a decade apart - told in reverse. A brilliant debut from an amazing new voice in thriller writing. Our Price: : €14.91

click to see more

 
 
Lincoln in the Bardo - Booker 2017 Winner
The extraordinary first novel by the bestselling, Folio Prize-winning, National Book Award-shortlisted George Saunders, about Abraham Lincoln and the death of his eleven year old son, Willie, at the dawn of the Civil War The American Civil War rages while President Lincoln's beloved eleven-year-old son lies gravely ill. In a matter of days, Willie dies and is laid to rest in a Georgetown cemetery. Newspapers report that a grief-stricken Lincoln returns to the crypt several times alone to hold his boy's body. Our Price: : €14.73

click to see more