This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

HERBALIST

HERBALIST
Teenager Emily is spellbound by the exotic stranger - here is a man of the world who won't care that she's not respectable. However, Emily has competition for the herbalist's attentions. It seems the women of her small town are all mesmerized by the visitor who, they say, can perform miracles.
Our Price: €10.12
ISBN/EAN9780241964583
Stock: 1
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Pub. Date: September 26 2013
Author: Boyce, Niamh
Format: Paperback
Save wishlist

"The most entertaining yet substantial historical novel since Joseph O'Connor's Star of the Sea". (Irish Times). The Herbalist is the electrifying first novel from Niamh Boyce, winner of the 2012 Hennesssy XO Award for New Irish Writing. It is a devastating and emotional story of yearning and obsession in 1930s rural Ireland. Out of nowhere the herbalist appears and sets up his stall in the market square. Teenager Emily is spellbound by the exotic stranger - here is a man of the world who won't care that she's not respectable. However, Emily has competition for the herbalist's attentions. It seems the women of her small town are all mesmerized by the visitor who, they say, can perform miracles. When Emily discovers the miracle-worker's dark side, her world turns upside down. She may be naive, but she has a fierce sense of right and wrong. With his fate lying in her hands, Emily must make the biggest decision of her young life. To make the herbalist pay for his sins against the women of the town? Or let him escape to cast his spell on another place? "An elegant morality tale about the inescapable strictures of women's lives...Her publisher describes her as "a dazzling new voice".
I cannot disagree". (Sunday Times). "A vividly imagined tale of love, lust and longing ...a compelling read with a cathartic ending that deserves a wide readership. It remains authentic and moving to the end". (Sunday Business Post). "Boyce's subject matter may be dark, and she treats it with the seriousness it deserves, but she writes with a lightness of touch not often seen in the genre ...just as the readers of The Herbalist share the women's fear as we read, we share their wonder and excitement as well ...hugely impressive and wonderfully assured". (Irish Times). "There's a lot going on that is slowly revealed and the writing is beautiful...A serious new literary talent". (TV3). "I read The Herbalist with great pleasure. The characters jump alive from the page and I had to read fast to find out what happened, totally gripped". (Patricia Ferguson, author of The Midwife's Daughter). "Comparisons to Edna O'Brien and Pat McCabe are more than justified. That said, Boyce has a unique voice and sensibility, one that's entirely her own". (Image). "Fascinating and revealing...I suffered, raged and celebrated with the exceptionally well developed characters and cancelled all engagements in order to finish the book".
(Goodreads. com). "A riveting story that electrifies and dazzles". (Writing.ie). Niamh Boyce's background is in visual arts and she now works as a librarian. She started writing just four years ago. She lives in the Irish midlands with her family.
No recommended products at the moment.
 
Only Ever Yours
WINNER OF THE SUNDAY INDEPENDENT NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR AWARD: The Handmaid's Tale meets Mean Girls in the award-winning, critically acclaimed debut Our Price: : €10.95

click to see more

 
 
Asking for it - Irish Book Awards Winner 2015
BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated. For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. Our Price: : €9.92

click to see more

 
 
Almost Love: the addictive story of obsessive love from the bestselling author of Asking for It
If it doesn't hurt, it's not love: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult Our Price: : €9.88

click to see more

 
 
Surface Breaks: a reimagining of Little Mermaid
Deep beneath the sea, off the cold Irish coast, Gaia is a young mermaid who dreams of freedom from her controlling father. On her first swim to the surface, she is drawn towards a human boy. She longs to join his carefree world, but how much will she have to sacrifice? What will it take for the little mermaid to find her voice? Our Price: : €8.82

click to see more

 
 
After the Silence
Nessa Crowley's murderer has been protected by silence for ten years.
Until a team of documentary makers decide to find out the truth.

In this bold, brilliant, disturbing new novel Louise O'Neill shows that deadly secrets are devastating to those who hold them close.
Our Price: : €14.39

click to see more