This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Search

Search Terms

You can search our site by adding one or more words to one or more of the search boxes below.

Each box searches a different field and the 'Search All' box searches them all.

If you enter multiple words in in any search box then one of those words MUST be in that field for the product to be returned but all of them don’t have to be present.

The results will be ordered by products with more of the specified words first (if in “Relevance” order) then any products that have less of your specified words.

For example if you search for “Red Dog” in the title field and “James Ben” in the Author field then ether “Red” or “Dog” must be present in the title AND ether “James” or “Ben” must be present in the Author field for a product to be shown in the results. If both “Red” and “Dog” is present in the Title as well as “James” and “Ben” in the Author then that product will appear first in the results followed by any products with fewer of the optional words.

Wildcard Searches

We support single and multiple character wildcard searches within single words.

To perform a single character wildcard search use the ""?"" symbol.

To perform a multiple character wildcard search use the ""*"" symbol.

The single character wildcard search looks for terms that match that with the single character replaced. For example, to search for ""text"" or ""test"" you can use the search:

te?t

Multiple character wildcard searches looks for 0 or more characters. For example, to search for test, tests or tester, you can use the search:

test*

You can also use the wildcard searches in the middle of a term:

te*t

Warning: You should avoid using wildcard searches as the first character of a word as it will dramatically slow down searches:

?est

*st

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators allow terms to be combined through logic operators. We support AND, ""+"", OR, NOT and ""-"" as Boolean operators(Note: Boolean operators must be ALL CAPS).

The OR operator is the default conjunction operator. This means that if there is no Boolean operator between two terms, the OR operator is used. The OR operator links two terms and finds a matching document if either of the terms exist in a document. This is equivalent to a union using sets. The symbol || can be used in place of the word OR.

To search for documents that contain either ""another book"" or just ""another"" use the query:

""another book"" another

or

""another book"" OR another

AND

The AND operator matches documents where both terms exist anywhere in the text of a single document. This is equivalent to an intersection using sets. The symbol && can be used in place of the word AND.

To search for documents that contain ""another book"" and ""Some Book"" use the query:

""another book"" AND ""Some Book""

+

The ""+"" or required operator requires that the term after the ""+"" symbol exist somewhere in a the field of a single document.

To search for documents that must contain ""another"" and may contain ""search"" use the query:

+another search

NOT

The NOT operator excludes documents that contain the term after NOT. This is equivalent to a difference using sets. The symbol ! can be used in place of the word NOT.

To search for documents that contain ""another book"" but not ""Some Book"" use the query:

""another book"" NOT ""Some Book""

-

The ""-"" or prohibit operator excludes documents that contain the term after the ""-"" symbol.

To search for documents that contain ""another book"" but not ""Some Book"" use the query:

""another book"" -""Some Book""

Fuzzy Searches

We support fuzzy searches based on the Levenshtein Distance, or Edit Distance algorithm. To do a fuzzy search use the tilde, ""~"", symbol at the end of a Single word Term. For example to search for a term similar in spelling to ""roam"" use the fuzzy search:

roam~

This search will find terms like foam and roams.

An additional (optional) parameter can specify the required similarity. The value is between 0 and 1, with a value closer to 1 only terms with a higher similarity will be matched. For example:

roam~0.8

The default that is used if the parameter is not given is 0.5.

Grouping

We support using parentheses to group clauses to form sub queries. This can be very useful if you want to control the boolean logic for a query.

To search for either ""another"" or ""book"" and ""website"" use the query:

(another OR book) AND website

This eliminates any confusion and makes sure you that website must exist and either term another or book may exist.

Escaping Special Characters

We support escaping special characters that are part of the query syntax. The current list special characters are:

+ - && || ! ( ) { } [ ] ^ "" ~ * ? : \

To escape these character use the \ before the character. For example to search for (1+1):2 use the query:

\(1\+1\)\:2

Boosting a Term

We provide the relevance level of matching documents based on the terms found. To boost a term use the caret, ""^"", symbol with a boost factor (a number) at the end of the term you are searching. The higher the boost factor, the more relevant the term will be.

Boosting allows you to control the relevance of a document by boosting its term. For example, if you are searching for

another book

and you want the term ""another"" to be more relevant boost it using the ^ symbol along with the boost factor next to the term. You would type:

another^4 book

This will make documents with the term another appear more relevant. You can also boost Phrase Terms as in the example:

""another book""^4 ""Some Book""

By default, the boost factor is 1. Although the boost factor must be positive, it can be less than 1 (e.g. 0.2)

Proximity Searches

We support finding words are a within a specific distance away. To do a proximity search use the tilde, ""~"", symbol at the end of a Phrase. For example to search for a ""book"" and ""another"" within 10 words of each other in a document use the search:

""another book""~10
You searched for: Author: 'GRIFFITHS, ELLY'
Refine Search
Sort:
Stranger Diaries

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781786487407
A gripping contemporary Gothic thriller from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries: Susan Hill meets Gone Girl and Disclaimer.

A dark story has been brought to terrifying life. Can the ending be rewritten in time?

'Utterly bewitching ... a pitch-perfect modern Gothic' AJ FINN, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

'Compelling, intelligent and increasingly mesmerising' PETER JAMES

'At once a homage to the Gothic thriller, and a re-imagining, it is goose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting, in every sense. I loved this book! And you will too' LOUISE PENNY
Publisher: Quercus
Pub. Date: November 1 2018
Author: GRIFFITHS ELLY
Format: Trade PB
Stock: 0
Price: €13.99

Retail Price: €14.68


Dying Fall

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9780857388872
When forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway's friend dies in suspicious circumstances, she goes up north to investigate.
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Pub. Date: January 31 2013
Author: GRIFFITHS, ELLY
Format: Paperback
Stock: 0
Price: €14.99


Vanishing Box

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781784297015
Publisher: Quercus
Author: GRIFFITHS ELLY
Format: Trade PB
Stock: 0
Price: €12.99

Retail Price: €16.37


Girl Called Justice

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781786540591
Missing maids, suspicious teachers and a snow storm to die for... For a fearless girl called Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, it's just the start of a spine-tingling first term at Highbury House Boarding School for the Daughters of Gentlefolk. For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Pub. Date: May 2 2019
Author: GRIFFITHS, ELLY
Format: Paperback
Stock: 32
Price: €7.99

Retail Price: €8.26


Room Full of Bones

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781849163705
The fourth in a series featuring forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway.
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Pub. Date: April 26 2012
Author: GRIFFITHS, ELLY
Format: Paperback
Stock: 0
Price: €9.60


Chalk Pit

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781784296605
WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. Boiled human bones have been found in Norwich's web of underground tunnels. When Dr Ruth Galloway discovers they were recently buried, DCI Nelson has a murder enquiry on his hands. The boiling might have been just a medieval curiosity - now it suggests a much more sinister purpose.
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Pub. Date: February 23 2017
Author: GRIFFITHS, ELLY
Format: Trade PB
Stock: 0
Price: €16.95

Retail Price: €18.03


Dark Angel

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781784296643
Publisher: Quercus
Author: GRIFFITHS ELLY
Format: Trade PB
Stock: 0
Price: €15.99

Retail Price: €18.03


Stone Circle

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781786487308
DCI Nelson has been receiving threatening letters telling him to 'go to the stone circle and rescue the innocent who is buried there'. He is shaken, not only because children are very much on his mind, with Michelle's baby due to be born, but because although the letters are anonymous, they are somehow familiar. They read like the letters that first drew him into the case of The Crossing Places, and to Ruth. But the author of those letters is dead. Or are they?
Publisher: Quercus
Author: GRIFFITHS ELLY
Format: Trade PB
Stock: 0
Price: €14.99

Retail Price: €18.03


Now You See Them

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781786487353
A new world is dawning in Brighton, but the city's dark side is as dangerous as ever.

Gripping historical mystery from the bestselling author of The Stranger Diaries.

'Griffiths writes with a smart, sharp eye and great elegance' Peter James

Three girls have left. None have come back.
Publisher: Quercus
Pub. Date: October 3 2019
Author: GRIFFITHS, ELLY
Format: Trade PB
Stock: 3
Price: €15.99

Retail Price: €18.03


Outcast Dead EXPORT

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9780857388919
Forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway discovers the skeleton of a long-dead murderess, while DCI Nelson has a new killer on his hands...
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Pub. Date: February 6 2014
Author: GRIFFITHS, ELLY
Format: Hardback
Stock: 0
Price: €15.99